Denver Drug Strategy Commission

The 29 member Denver Drug Strategy Commission (DDSC) was appointed by Mayor John W. Hickenlooper in December 2006, to guide a community-wide effort to develop a strategic plan for substance abuse prevention, intervention, treatment, transition and recovery; and to implement ongoing efforts through the Office of Drug Strategy to reduce substance abuse and misuse in the City and County of Denver. The DDSC is uniquely qualified to direct this effort with representation from substance abuse treatment and prevention, K-12 and higher education, business and foundations, advocacy, public health, public safety, mental health, recovery, faith-based community, parents and youth.

BOARD CHAIR:                                  
Dr. Sandra Haynes
Metropolitan State College of Denver
Amber Callender
Denver Department of Human Services and Denver's Road Home
Vanessa Fenley
Denver Department of Human Services
1200 Federal Blvd.
Denver, Colorado  80204
Phone: 720 944-2530
Flor Amaro
Parent Representative
Denver Public Schools
Noah Atencio
Assistant Vice President, Grants Program
Daniels Fund
Richard Benenson
Litigation and Antitrust
Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

Tom Brewster
Executive Director, Addiction Research and   Treatment Services
University of Colorado at Denver and
Health and Sciences Center

Carl Clark
Psychiatrist, CEO
Mental Health Center of Denver

Pete Conner
Lieutenant, Command Staff
Denver Police Department District 2

Robert Dorshimer
Mile High Council on Substance Abuse

Denise Escobedo
Youth Member

Lt. Robert Garcia
Denver Police Department

Cheryl Haggstron
Exeuctive Vice President
Community First Foundation

Robert House
Director, Behavioral Health
Denver Health Medical Center

Regina Huerter
Denver Crime Prevention
and Control Commission

Dan O'Malley
Employee Assistance Professionals and Drug
Free Work Place

Dayveontay Pedraza
Youth Member

John Simmons
Executive Director of Student Serivces
Denver Public Schools

Andrew McClure
Outreach Specialist
Urban Peak     

James Moran
Vice Provost
Denver University

Carmelita Muniz
Executive Director
The Providers Association

David Murphy
Chief Executive Officer
Arapahoe House

Lorii Rabinowitz
Business Development Manager

Allison Sabel-Soteres
Director of Medical Biostatistics
Denver Health

Bert Singleton
Prevention Program Director
Peer Assistance Services

Erik Stone
Director of Compliance & Quality Improvement
Signal Behavioral Health Network

Dr. Carroll Watkins Ali
Faith Community
Greater Denver Interfaith Alliance

Tonya Wheeler
Advocates for Recovery

Mark Wright
Director, Denver CARES (detox)
Denver Health

Katie Wells
Coordinator of Adolescent Services
Colorado Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division