Board Members
(as of June 2013)

Edgar L. Neel earned a B.A. from Amherst College and a J.D. from Cornell University Law School. He has practiced law in Denver for over thirty years.  His focus is on commercial and construction matters, representing contractors, insurers and surety companies in complex claims and litigation.  He is a past president and current director of the Denver law firm of Pendleton, Wilson, Hennessey and Crow, P.C.  He was the District Director for Congresswoman Diana DeGette in 1997.  Reappointed by City Council. Term expires 4-20-2015. He was elected Chair of the Board of Ethics in May 2008 and served for two years and was elected again as Chair in 2013. 

Roy V. Wood earned his B.A, M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Denver. He was a Professor and Dean of the School of Communications at Northwestern University from 1972 to 1988. In 1989 he became the first Provost of the University of Denver. In 2006 he chaired a blue-ribbon panel on ethics for the Colorado House of Representatives. The Speaker of the Colorado House of Representatives appointed him as a member of the first Colorado Independent Ethics Commission and he completed that term in June 2011. He teaches classes at D.U. in communications ethics and dialogue and directs dissertations, most of which center around ethics in organizations and public service. Appointed by the Mayor. Term expires 4-30-2015. He served as Vice-Chair of the Board of Ethics in 2012 - 2013. 

Brian J. Spano earned his B.A. from the University of Michigan and his J.D. from the University of Illinois College of Law. He has been with the law firm of Rothgerber, Johnson and Lyons since 1987 and is currently the firm’s Managing Partner and specializes in insurance and commercial litigation matters. He also serves as counsel to the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and advises the Academy on matters relating to ethics complaints against Academy members. He was appointed by City Council to a term ending April 20, 2017. He was elected Vice-Chair of the Board of Ethics in May 2013.

Andrew S. Armatas earned his. B. A. at the University of Colorado at Boulder and his. J. D. from the University of Denver. He has served as a Denver Assistant City Attorney, a partner in a Denver law firm, City Attorney for Broomfield and a Denver County Court Judge, retiring in January 2013 after 23 years of service on the bench. During 7 of those years, he served as Presiding Judge of the Denver County Court. He was appointed by the Mayor to a term ending April 30, 2017.

Sylvia S. Smith has been employed with the City and County of Denver in a variety of capacities - from Director of Policy and Research in the Auditor’s Office to her current position as a Program Specialist for the Denver Office of Economic Development where she manages neighborhood service and facility improvement contracts. She holds a B. A. in Political Science from the University of Colorado at Denver. She has been active in many organizations including the Colorado Black Women for Political Action, Single Mothers of Color, Inc., National Council of Negro Women, Inc., Denver Section and Colorado Common Cause. She was appointed by the Mayor and City Council to a term ending June 24, 2017.