CORRECTION: City Council Announces Council President, Pro-tem, and Committee Assignments

CORRECTION: City Council Announces Council President, Pro-tem, and Committee Assignments

(DENVER)  The Denver City Council has announced that Mary Beth Susman has been elected to the position of President, and Christopher Herndon has been elected to the position of President Pro-tem. Council members Susman and Herndon replace outgoing President, Councilman Chris Nevitt, and Pro-tem, Councilwoman Peggy Lehmann, who served in these posts since July 2010.

Councilwoman Susman joined City Council in July 2011 after being elected from District 5. Prior to running for City Council, Ms. Susman was the Vice President of the Colorado Community College System and a longtime community leader. 

Commenting on her election, Councilwoman Susman said, “I am honored to serve my fellow council members and our city in this way and look forward to a productive and collegial year for all of us.”

Councilman Herndon was elected to the City Council in July 2011 from District 11.  A 1999 West Point graduate and Iraqi veteran, Mr. Herndon served for nearly seven years in the United States Army. Before joining Council, he worked in various managerial positions for United Airlines and Walmart.

 “I’m very excited to serve as City Council President Pro-Tem. I look forward to working with President Susman over the next year and thank my colleagues for the vote of confidence,” said Councilman Herndon regarding his appointment.

President Susman has announced her committee appointments for the 2012-13 Council year beginning August 14, 2012.

The four standing committees consist of Government & Finance, chaired by Councilmember Jeanne Faatz; Business, Workforce & Sustainability, chaired by Councilmember Deborah “Debbie” Ortega; Health, Safety, Education & Services, chaired by Councilmember Albus Brooks; and Land Use, Transportation & Infrastructure, chaired by Councilmember Jeanne Robb.

In addition to the four standing committees, the Special Issues National Western Stock Show Committee will continue chaired by Councilmember Judy Montero.

“I am fortunate to work with some of the best leaders in the city and am confident in their thoughtful and responsive work on these committees. My charge to them will be to be as proactive as possible in their deliberations and actions,” Councilwoman Susman said today.

Councilwoman Susman is not assigned to any of the 4 committees. As President, she is a voting member of all committees.

All committee meeting times and dates remain the same from the current Council year. 

Full Committee membership and jurisdictional information can be found here.

Posted on Aug 08, 2012 (Archive on Aug 31, 2012)
Posted by kpellegrin  Contributed by kpellegrin

Upcoming Meetings