Skip navigation

Paying online?

The City of Denver recently implemented a security enhancement to better protect our online payment processing system.  As a result of this enhancement, we are no longer able to accept payments from non-current browsers. If you are using an older browser version, please upgrade your browser to the most current version so that you can access the online payment service.

Body Art Mobile Vehicles

Any motor vehicle such as a bus, recreational vehicle, trailer, truck, or van, where body art procedures are performed.


How to Get a Business License

  • Application for Body Art Establishment
  • Applicant Criminal History Form
  • Full set of fingerprints. Fingerprinting will be conducted by the Department of Excise and Licenses. Fingerprints taken by a private fingerprinting company will not be accepted.  If the applicant resides out-of-state, he or she may submit a fingerprint card taken by the local police authority in his or her place of residence on a FBI fingerprint card (FD-258). The applicant may also be required to submit a letter of clearance and criminal history record from his or her local police authority.
  • Current Colorado Motor Vehicle Record
  • Affidavit of Lawful Presence  accompanied by
  • Secure and Verifiable Identification (if business is an individual or sole proprietor)
  • Photo ID

Application Fee: $200.00

License Fee: $200.00

Fingerprint Fee:  $16.50


Fees can be paid with cash, check,  money order or credit card.  Checks should be made payable to Manager of Finance. 

  • Development Services (720) 865-2982
  • Denver Fire Department (720) 913-3474
  • Department of Public Health and Environment (720) 865-5401

Once your inspections are completed, return to the Department of Excise and Licenses office.  Your license will be issued when the following actions are taken: 

  1. All documents required for the license are complete and submitted to the office.
  2. The background check is accepted and approved.
  3. Fees are paid in full.
  4. All required inspections are passed.

Renew a Business License

Renew in Person
Come to the Department of Excise and Licenses office.

Request a renewal for your business license.

Once all documentation is complete and background check (if required) is approved you will be issued a payment voucher.

Take the payment voucher to the cashier and pay the renewal license fee.

Return to the Department of Excise and Licenses office with your receipt for payment.

Your business license will be printed.


Renew by Mail
You can mail in your license renewal along with a check made payable to the Manager of Finance for the total city fees due. Be sure to include your Business File Number (BFN) on your check.

Office Hours and Location
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Webb Municipal Office Building
201 W. Colfax Avenue, 2nd Floor

Mailing Information
Department of Excise and Licenses
201 W. Colfax Ave Dept. 206
Denver, CO 80202

  • Current Colorado Motor Vehicle Record

License Fee: $200.00

Licenses must be renewed on or before the expiration date to avoid penalty fees.


90 Day Grace Period

There is a 90 day grace period from the expiration date during which licenses can be renewed for a penalty fee.

First 30 days of grace period:  20% penalty fee

Days 31 - 90:  50% penalty fee

After 90 days:  Licensees will be required to apply for a new license


  • Department of Excise and Licenses inspectors will attempt to locate and notify business license holders of the approaching expiration date.  However, failure of an inspector to notify a delinquent licensee that its license has expired does not excuse the licensee from any applicable late penalty.


Municipal Code

Denver Revised Municipal Code

Definition 7-10, 7-12 

Requirements 7-26

Fees 32-48.5

Plan Extra Time!

Date Icon

Inspections and paperwork can take longer than you expect.  Plan extra time to get your license.