Skip navigation

Paying online?

The City of Denver recently implemented a security enhancement to better protect our online payment processing system.  As a result of this enhancement, we are no longer able to accept payments from non-current browsers. If you are using an older browser version, please upgrade your browser to the most current version so that you can access the online payment service.

Liquor Licensed Drug Store

Sale of beer, wine, and liquor by the package for off-premises consumption.  Must be licensed by the State Board of Pharmacy.


  • Sale, service and consumption of beer, wine, and liquor by in sealed containers for off-premises consumption
  • May sell food items and all other sundry items sold at retail drug stores with such sales totaling at least 20% of the licensees gross annual income. (effective 1/1/17)
  • May not sell clothing or accessories imprinted with information related to alcohol beverages. (effective 1/1/17)

Seven days a week between 8:00 a.m. and 12 Midnight

Multiple ownership is not allowed with liquor licensed drug stores except in an arts license, an airline public transportation license, or between 1/1/17 - 1/1/22 a maximum of five total liquor licensed drugstore licenses. (Effective 1/1/17)

NOTE: Excise and Licenses MUST conduct a Needs and Desires hearing for multiple Liquor-licensed Drugstore License applications. 

A 500 foot distance restriction from public and parochial schools, colleges, universities, and seminaries applies to new liquor licensed drug store applications. 

A 1500 foot distance restriction from another retail liquor store or liquor-licensed drugstore. (Effective 7/1/16)

Application Fees:

State - $2,230.00

City - $750.00


License fees will be calculated at the time the permanent license is issued.

See documents required for a liquor license application 

Individual History Form  (for Manager)

Manager - Complete set of fingerprints sent to the Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI)

A list of the names of all mangers of liquor licensed drug stores must be provided to the state and local authorities.

Additional documents may be required for this class of license.  Check with the Department of Excise and Licenses for specific requirements.

The names of all managers of liquor licensed drug stores must be provided to the local and state licensing authorities whether a principal to the licensee or someone else manages the licensed premises.

A manager is required to file an individual history form and be fingerprinted.  (Department of Excise and License procedure).


State Statutes

Colorado StatuesColorado Liquor
and Beer Laws


Plan Extra Time!

Date Icon

Inspections and paperwork can take longer than you expect. Plan extra time to get your license.