Skip navigation

Motor vehicle insurance is mandatory in the State of Colorado

Motor vehicle insurance is mandatory in the State of Colorado.  Non-compliance with this requirement is a misdemeanor traffic offense.  The minimum penalty for such offense is a $100 fine.  The maximum penalty for such offense is one year’s imprisonment and a $1,000 fine.  Upon obtaining a registration, you will be required to sign an affirmation clause indicating compliance.