Skip navigation

Office of Children's Affairs

Working together to deliver a city where all children, youth and their families have the opportunity to succeed.

The Office of Children's Affairs, formerly known as the Mayor's Office for Education and Children, was established in 1995 to advocate for children and youth in the City and County of Denver from birth to young adulthood.  The Office of Children's Affairs is dedicated to ensuring Denver’s children and youth have their basic needs met, are ready for kindergarten, and prepared for academic and professional success.  We do not provide direct services, rather we work with other city agencies and community partners to increase access, increase participation, and improve the quality of programs and services for all of Denver’s children and youth. 

 

Vision:   Deliver a city where children, youth, and their families have an opportunity to succeed.

Our Mission Values

  • We put children first and we support the whole child
  • We are inclusive and represent all children and their families in Denver 
  • We listen and learn from the communities we serve
  • We don't make assumptions about who we serve
  • While all children have similar needs, we help fill gaps so each child has what he really needs

Our Operational Values

  • Mutual Respect
  • Authentic Communication
  • Integrity
  • Openness and Transparency
  • Accountability and Honesty


 

Erin Brown
Executive Director
720.913.0900
erin.brown@denvergov.org

 Stephanie Adams Stephanie Adams
Deputy Director
720.913.0885
stephanie.adams@denvergov.org
 Alicia Boyd Alicia Boyd
Director of Community Partnerships
720.913.0910
alicia.boyd@denvergov.org 
 Susan Gallo Susan M. Gallo, Ph.D.
Director of Health Initiatives
720.913.0907
susan.gallo@denvergov.org 
  Joey Pace
Youth Success Director
720.913.0918
joey.pace@denvergov.org
  Lisa Piscopo, Ph.D.
Director of Research and Analysis
720.913.0903
lisa.piscopo@denvergov.org 
 Maxine Quintana Maxine Quintana
Director of OST Initiatives
720.913.0905
maxine.quintana@denvergov.org 
  Susan Wells
Mayor's Youth Commission/Staff Assistant
720.913.0904
susan.wells@denvergov.org 

 

 Al Martinez Al Martinez, Ph.D.
Head Start Executive Director
Al.Martinez@denvergov.org

 Adella Arrendondo Adella Arredondo
Head Start Family Services Director
720-913-0882
Adella.Arredondo@denvergov.org
 Chris Auer Chris Auer
Head Start Disabilities Director
720-913-0894
Christopher.Auer@denvergov.org
 

Liane Martinez
Head Start School Readiness Director
720-913-0884
Liane.Martinez@denvergov.org

 

Ashanté Butcher
Head Start Health Services Director
720-913-0895
Ashante.Butcher@denvergov.org

 

  Caridad Nevarez
Head Start Administrative Assistant III


Access opportunities to prepare your children to SUCCEED
academically and professionally.

 

The Status Book provides data to help policy makers and community partners better understand the challenges faced by children and youth across the city.  

 

Contact Information

Office of Children's Affairs
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Dept 1101
Denver, CO 80202
720-913-0900 (office)
720-913-0928 (fax)
email us

 
Locate a Free Meal Site

Meals or snacks offered at various recreation centers. Learn more ...

Find a Mentor

My Brother's Keeper, opportunities for boys of color. Learn more ...

 
Enroll in Head Start Preschool

Preschool and health services for qualified families. Learn more ...

Become a Youth Advocate

Mayor's Youth Commission gives youth a voice. Learn more ...

 
Locate an Afterschool Program

Denver Afterschool Alliance works to improve quality. Learn more ...

Nominate Youth for an Award

Mayor's Youth Awards, strength through adversity. Learn more ...

 
Get a Free Recreation Membership

MY Denver Card, recreational and cultural fun. Learn more ...

Celebrate DPS Student Scholars

Mile High Scholars, modeling leadership and respect. Learn more ...