The State of Colorado authorizes legal residents of Colorado who demonstrate competence with handguns, to carry concealed handguns in all authorized areas of the state and in accordance with state law. Read State Senate Bill 03-024 (PDF) to learn more and Federal House Resolution 218 (PDF) that authorizes retired law enforcement officers to carry concealed handguns. For additional questions about concealed weapons permits, call (720) 913-6836.
Permit applications are processed on a walk-in, first come, first served basis Tuesday - Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 2:30 p.m., excluding Holidays.
Denver Police Department Administrative Building
1331 Cherokee St., Denver, CO 80204
A Complete Packet Should Include:
Fingerprinting and Photographing will be completed at the time of processing.
Questions? Please call (720) 913-6836.
You may submit an application for renewal within 120-days prior to the expiration of your permit.
Due to House Bill 14-1166 that went into effect March 14, 2014, you must submit a concealed handgun permit application (new and renewal) to the county sheriff’s office where you reside, own property or own a business. If you currently have a concealed handgun permit with Denver County and now live in another county, you must renew your permit with that county.
Permit applications are processed on a walk-in, first come, first served basis Tuesday - Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 2:30 p.m., excluding Holidays at 1331 Cherokee Street, Denver, CO 80204.
Be sure to prepare the appropriate documents and bring them with you.
You must bring the following documents and fees with you:
1) A completed permit application, not signed. Applications must be signed in the presence of the County Sheriff or their designee. A Supplemental Form must be completed if you answer yes to #14 on the application.
2) A photocopy of a verifiable Colorado Driver’s License or Colorado / military photo ID.
3) A Notorized (PRIOR TO ARRIVAL) permit affidavit.
4) A non refundable processing fee in the form of cashier check or money order for $63.00 made payable to the Denver Police Department. This fee is required for all regular civilian applicants. Personal checks will not be accepted.