Denver Justice Center Architect Selection Jury Members Announced

Denver Justice Center Architect Selection Jury Members Announced

Monday, October 17, 2005

James Mejia, Project Manager
(720) 865-2670

Denver Justice Center Architect Selection Jury Members Announced
Master Architect to Present Design Guidelines on Tuesday (DENVER) David Owen Tryba Architects, in association with Mundus Bishop Design and DMJM, will present an Interim Framework Plan for the Denver Justice Center on Tuesday, October 18, 2005, from 6 to 8 p.m. at the Federal Credit Union, 1041 Acoma Street. This plan includes the siting of the three downtown buildings (the courthouse, detention facility, and post office/parking garage building) and how the three buildings will relate to each other and the surrounding neighborhoods.

Parking Garage Architect

Following a competitive RFQ/RFP/jury selection process, Barber Architecture has been selected to design the post office/parking garage building. Michael Barber, founder of Barber Architecture, has been teaching and practicing architecture for 33 years. Barber Architecture was awarded the “Presidential Award,” the highest honor presented by the National Endowment of the Arts, for the restoration of the Byron White United States Courthouse - 10th Circuit Court of Appeals, located in Denver. Barber Architecture was recently named “Colorado’s Architect of the Year” by A&E Magazine.

Project Management Services

The City is currently soliciting responses from individuals and companies for professional project management services for the construction of the downtown components of the Justice Center. The successful respondent will work with the current Justice Center management team to provide experienced jail and court design and construction management services.

Architect Selection Process and Jury for Courthouse and Detention Facility On Tuesday, the architects who responded to the Request for Qualifications (“RFQ”) for both the courthouse and downtown detention facility will be announced. Firms that are subsequently short-listed from the RFQ responses will be asked to develop a team and respond to a Request for Proposal (“RFP”).

An architect selection jury will interview the RFP respondents and make a recommendation to Mayor John Hickenlooper. Larry Witzling of the Planning and Design Institute is managing the architect selection jury process. He has over 25 years of experience in urban design and planning and has won national awards for urban design from Progressive Architecture and the American Institute of Architects.

The architect selection jury for the courthouse and downtown detention facility is composed of the following individuals:

Rachel Ahalt Designer, Buchanan Yonushewski Group Laura Aldrete Assistant Director, Denver Urban Renewal Authority Joe Aragon President, Proserve Jeffrey Bayless Chief Judge, Denver District Court Billie Bramhall Golden Triangle Neighborhood Association Hubert Farbes Partner, Brownstein, Hyatt & Farber Larry Friedberg Architect, State of Colorado Mark Gelernter Dean, CU Architecture & Planning Dennis Humphries Principal, Humphries Poli Architects Frances Koncilja Principal, Koncilja & Associates Bill Lovingier Chief, Denver Sheriff’s Department Linda Nugent Golden Triangle Arts District Sharon Nunnally Consultant, Denver Landmark Preservation Commission Peter Park Manager, Community Planning & Development Dept. Jeanne Robb Denver City Councilwoman, District #10 Mark Rodgers University Architect, University of Denver Elizabeth Wright Ingraham Principal, Elizabeth Wright Ingraham Architects Ex-officio jury members are: James Mejía Project Manager, Denver Justice Center David Tryba Principal, David Owen Tryba Architects Larry Witzling President, Planning and Design Institute.
# # #

Posted on Oct 17, 2005 (Archive on Nov 16, 2005)
Posted by kpellegrin  Contributed by kpellegrin