City of Denver Forms Two Citizen Groups to Guide Zoning Code Update

City of Denver Forms Two Citizen Groups to Guide Zoning Code Update


CONTACT: Lindy Eichenbaum Lent
(720) 865-9016

City of Denver Forms Two Citizen Groups to Guide Zoning Code Update

(DENVER) Following up on his State of the City pledge to look strategically at Denver’s zoning rules and regulations to ensure the City is effectively carrying out the mission of Blueprint Denver, Mayor John Hickenlooper and Council President Elbra Wedgeworth announced at Tuesday’s Mayor-Council meeting the formation of two new citizen groups to help update the Denver zoning code. This initiative, representing the first major revision of the zoning code since 1957, will be led by Denver’s Community Planning and Development Department in conjunction with the City Attorney’s Office.

“The current zoning code is in many places inconsistent with Blueprint Denver and other community-driven plans for preferred development patterns,” Mayor Hickenlooper said. “Denver citizens called for zoning code reform in the 1989 Comprehensive Plan and again in the Denver Comprehensive Plan 2000. We should not postpone this task any longer. Blueprint Denver represents our community’s vision of the future and reforming the zoning code is a means of translating that vision into reality.”

The Zoning Code Task Force, composed of neighborhood representatives, city officials, business and real estate development representatives, will oversee this multi-year effort by conducting public listening sessions to define issues and problems with current zoning rules and regulations, examining various strategies, evaluating alternatives and recommending language and map improvements to City Council. Each task force member has made a minimum commitment of at least two years; in the first four to six months, the Task Force is expected to meet every two to three weeks, with the first meeting scheduled for Wednesday, February 9, 2005, at 4:00 p.m. in Room 4.I.5 of the Webb Municipal Office Building, 201 West Colfax Avenue.

“The focus of this effort is extensive opportunities for community participation throughout the process,” said City Council President Elbra Wedgeworth, who worked with the administration and City Council to identify and appoint a broad-based, diverse group of citizens. “We are grateful for the expertise these volunteers and encourage all Denver residents to become engaged in this opportunity to shape Denver’s future.”

A Zoning Citizen Advisory Group, with a larger membership, will also be assembled and will periodically convene to provide broader perspectives.

Appointed to the Zoning Code Task Force are:


Stephen Kaplan
Attorney/Partner, Kaplan Kirsch & Rockwell; former City Attorney

Diane Barrett
Recently retired Attorney/Partner, Holmes Roberts & Owens


Stephanie Garcia
Real estate investor and developer

Susan Barnes-Gelt
Former Denver City Councilwoman, At-Large

Brad Buchanan
Principal, Buchanan Yonushewski Group; Member, Denver Planning Board

Michael Henry
Zoning and Planning Chair, Inter-Neighborhood Cooperation

John Hindlemann
Member, Board of Adjustment

John Lucero
Board of Directors, Denver Board of Realtors; Broker, Keller Williams Realty

Rich McClintock
Program Director, Livable Communities Support Center

Peter Park
Manager of Community Planning & Development, City & County of Denver

Jeanne Robb
City Councilwoman, District #10; Chair, Blueprint Denver Council Committee

John Ross
Vice President/Denver Division., Gillis Thomas Company

Molly Urbina
Director of Governmental Affairs, Oakwood Homes

Ken Walker
Principal, Walker-Dilworth, LLC

Carolynne White
Land Use/Real Estate Attorney, Brownstein Hyatt & Farber PC

A.J. Zabbia
Principal, 68 West Engineering, Inc.

Periodic updates will be available online in the “What’s New” section of

# # #

Posted on Feb 08, 2005 (Archive on Mar 10, 2005)
Posted by kpellegrin  Contributed by kpellegrin