PUBLIC SESSION: Mayor's Task Force on Future Library Funding

PUBLIC SESSION: Mayor's Task Force on Future Library Funding


Wednesday, April 28, 2004

Lindy Eichenbaum Lent
M. Celeste Jackson

PUBLIC SESSION: Mayor's Task Force on Future Library Funding

Tuesday, May 11, 6:30 - 8:30 p.m. at Denver Central Library
-- Task Force Seeks Community Input--

On Tuesday, May 11, 2004, Deputy Mayor and Manager of Revenue Cheryl Cohen-Vader will chair a public forum meeting of the Mayor's Task Force on Future Library Funding. At the meeting, task force members will seek input from the community on issues surrounding the funding and governance of the City’s Library system.

The 15-member task force was appointed by Mayor John Hickenlooper in late March 2004. They will further deliberate at their Tuesday, May 25 meeting and will submit a recommendation to the Mayor in June. Their charge is to explore various funding and governance options for the Denver Public Library system, ranging from maintaining the status quo of an independent city agency dependent on City finances to creating a special library taxing district, and all options in between.

The May 11 Public Session Meeting will be held at the Denver Central Library, located at 10 W. 14th Ave. Pkwy., in the B2 Level Conference Center. Open to the public, the session runs from 6:30 – 8:30 p.m. For more information, call 720-865-2006.

The Library Task Force is composed of the following individuals:

Cheryl Cohen-Vader, Chair
Mgr. of Revenue/Deputy Mayor, City & County of Denver

Lena Archuleta
Retired Denver Public Schools teacher and librarian

Carol Boigon
Denver City Councilwoman At-Large; Former Director of Mayor's Office for Education & Children

Wesley A. Brown
President, Denver Public Library Commission; Director, McDonald Investments

George P. Caulkins, III
Finance Committee Member, Denver Public Library Friends Foundation; Principal, Greendeck Capital.

Ben Duke
Denver Public Library Friends Foundation Board; Director of External Affairs, Urban Peak.

Polly Flobeck
Former City Councilwoman, District 5; Board Member, Scientific Cultural Facilities District (SCFD)

Steve Hutt
Treasurer, City & County of Denver

Marci Moore-Gantz
Deputy District Administrator, SCFD

Angela Padilla
Executive Director, Latina Initiative

Rosemary Rodrigue,
City Councilwoman, District 3; Former Director of Boards and Commissions; Former Clerk & Recorder, City & County of Denver

Joe Serna
2003 Board Chair, Colorado Women's Chamber of Commerce

Mel E. Thompson
Director of Budget and Management, City & County of Denver

Sid Wilson
Member, Denver Public Library Commission; President, A Private Guide, Inc.; Chair, Black American West Museum and Heritage Center

Richard Yuvienco
Private Banking Officer, Colorado Business Bank; Advisory Board Member, Colorado Humane Society; Member, Denver Safe City Grant Review Board

# # #

Posted on Apr 28, 2004 (Archive on May 28, 2004)
Posted by kpellegrin  Contributed by kpellegrin