Mayor Announces New Appointment to Denver Water Board

Mayor Announces New Appointment to Denver Water Board


Thursday, January 29, 2004

Lindy Eichenbaum Lent

Mayor Announces New Appointment to Denver Water Board

Mayor John Hickenlooper will announce his appointment of George Beardsley to the Denver Water Board, during an afternoon speech to the Colorado Water Congress on Thursday. Established in 1918, Denver Water is Colorado’s oldest and largest water utility. Its board is responsible for ensuring a continuous supply of water to the City and County of Denver and the nearly 50% of Denver Water customers who live in the surrounding suburbs, all of which involves issues of water collection, storage, quality control, distribution, conservation and pricing.

“George Beardsley has worked with water issues in Colorado from every angle: as a developer, as a rancher, as head of a water district, and as a civic leader engaged in environmental and conservation issues,” Hickenlooper said. “His regional experience and vast expertise will be an asset to Denver Water and its stewardship of our precious community resource.”

Beardsley is a principal with Inverness Properties, L.L.C., which specializes in the development and operation of commercial real estate properties, and he is a partner with G.L. Beardsley and Sons, which had former ranch operations in Elbert and Douglas Counties and maintains current ranch operations in Summit County. He is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Colorado Conservation Trust, the Colorado State University Research Foundation and the Gates Foundation. He is the immediate past president of the Inverness Metropolitan Water and Sanitation Districts, a member of the Urban Land Institute’s Environmental Council, a member of the Colorado Forum and its Water Committee; and a former board member of Great Outdoors Colorado.

Beardsley will fill one of the two vacant board positions created when Andrew Wallach and Dan Muse resigned from the Water Board. Mayor Hickenlooper will announce his second Water Board appointment in the coming months. The Denver Water Board is comprised of five commissioners, appointed by the Mayor, who serve staggered six-year terms. Denver Water Board members with ongoing, unexpired terms are Richard Kirk, Denise Maes, and Bill Roberts, all appointed by former Mayor Wellington E. Webb.

# # #

Posted on Jan 29, 2004 (Archive on Feb 28, 2004)
Posted by kpellegrin  Contributed by kpellegrin