Mayor Announces Appointments to Library Commission

Mayor Announces Appointments to Library Commission


Monday, January 12, 2004

Lindy Eichenbaum Lent
720 865-9016
or Celeste Jackson
720 865-2044

Mayor Announces Appointments to Library Commission

Mayor John Hickenlooper has appointed Kent C. Veio and Sid Wilson to the Denver Public Library Commission. Their terms will expire on August 1, 2007. The Denver Public Library Commission is charged with establishing policy and governing the Denver Public Library. Each of the Library's eight Commissioners serves as a representative of the community, building awareness, understanding and support of the Library.

“Denver’s nationally-recognized public library system is one of our city’s gems,” Hickenlooper said. “These two new appointments will bring new energy and expertise to the stewardship of this vital community asset.”

K.C. Veio is a partner with the Brownstein Hyatt & Farber law firm. He is a gubernatorial appointee to the Colorado Educational and Cultural Facilities Authority, and serves on the boards of Opera Colorado and the Colorado Business Committee for the Arts. A member of the Denver Art Museum’s Corporate Committee and the University of Denver College of Law's Long-Range Strategic Planning Committee, Veio is a past recipient of the Denver Business Journal’s “40 Under 40” Award.

Sid Wilson is the co-founder and president of A Private Guide, Inc., a local tour company specializing in group tours of Denver and the Rocky Mountain West. He is the current chairman of the Black American West Museum and Heritage Center, past chair and current board member of the Colorado Historical Society African-American Advisory Council, past vice chair and board member of Historic Denver, and a current board member of the Denver Metro Convention and Visitors Bureau. He also served on the Blair-Caldwell African American Research Library Advisory Committee.

Veio and Wilson replace Landri C. Taylor and Ann Kirchhof whose appointed terms on the Library Commission had expired. Library Commissioners with ongoing, unexpired terms are Marcy Benson, Eric J. Duran, Marilyn Amer, Wesley A. Brown, Jaren J. Ducker and Edward L. Schenk. The Library Commission was created in Denver's original City Charter 100 years ago (1904).

# # #

Posted on Jan 12, 2004 (Archive on Feb 11, 2004)
Posted by kpellegrin  Contributed by kpellegrin