Mayor John Hickenlooper to honor Denver Public Schools teachers

Mayor John Hickenlooper to honor Denver Public Schools teachers

Mayor John Hickenlooper will honor 171 Denver Public Schools teachers on Tuesday, May 4, at the Mile High Teachers celebration. In partnership with the Timothy and Bernadette Marquez Foundation, 12 teachers and 3 principals will receive the first ever Marquez Foundation Crystal Apple Award.

Denver Public Schools employs more than 4,500 teachers working in 161 schools to educate more than 78,000 students enrolled in DPS. Many of these teachers go above and beyond the call of duty to make a difference in the lives of their students. The Mile High Teachers program is an opportunity for the City and County of Denver to recognize the outstanding work and dedication of all Denver Public Schools teachers, and in particular those nominated by their principals and colleagues for:

  • Creatively supporting student learning by establishing a stimulating learning environment and/or introducing projects and activities that enhance and bring curriculum to life;
  • Fostering the development of students and their intellectual, social, emotional or physical growth; and
  • Demonstrating care and concern for the well-being of students and colleagues, thereby contributing to a positive school climate. 


WHAT:           Mile High Teachers Awards Ceremony


WHEN:          Tuesday, May 4, 2010

                       4 to 5:30 p.m.


WHERE:        Ellie Caulkins Opera House, Denver Performing Arts Complex


WHO:            Mayor John Hickenlooper
                     DPS Superintendent Tom Boasberg
                     Timothy Marquez, Timothy and Bernadette Marquez Foundation
                     Denver City Council representatives and Denver School Board representatives
                     DPS principals, teachers, friends and family
                     CBS4’s Gloria Neal


Lists of the 2010 Mile High Teachers in PDF format can be found online at and click on the Mile High Teachers link.


# # #

Posted on May 03, 2010 (Archive on Jun 02, 2010)
Posted by kpellegrin  Contributed by kpellegrin