Three Denver County Court judge nominees forwarded to Mayor Hickenlooper

Three Denver County Court judge nominees forwarded to Mayor Hickenlooper

Mayor John Hickenlooper has received the following three nominees for Denver County Court Judge from the Judicial Nomination Commission: 

Emily E. Anderson
Dianne L. Briscoe
Peter Q. Murphy

The Mayor will interview the nominees and announce his selection by Sept. 3, 2010. The appointment will fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Herbert Galchinski, who leaves the bench in January 2011.

The Judicial Nomination Commission (JNC) is established by Charter.  It is composed of three attorneys and four non-attorneys, appointed by the Mayor, serving a term of four years. The presiding judge of County Court serves in an ex-officio advisory capacity. When a judicial vacancy is created, the JNC announces the vacancy and the timeline in which to apply for nomination.

During the confidential process in which the JNC considers the candidates, the Commissioners apply rigorous and consistent standards for integrity, legal knowledge and ability, experience, temperament and diligence. They carefully review the applications and select interview candidates. After much deliberation, the JNC elects at least three nominees for the Mayor’s consideration. Once the JNC has transmitted the names, the Mayor has 15 days in which to appoint the new County Court Judge.

For further information, questions or to provide comments, please contact:

Suzan Moore
Director of Boards and Commissions
Mayor’s Office


Posted on Aug 23, 2010 (Archive on Oct 22, 2010)
Posted by kpellegrin  Contributed by kpellegrin