Call for Nominations - 2012 Monte Pascoe Civic Leadership Award

Call for Nominations - 2012 Monte Pascoe Civic Leadership Award

DENVER, CO ­— MONDAY, April 2, 2012 — Mayor Michael B. Hancock and the Monte Pascoe Civic Leadership Award Committee are seeking nominations for the 2012 Monte Pascoe Civic Leadership Award.

The award will be presented to the nominee who has best demonstrated:
  • Extraordinary service to improve the community or the world,
  • Actions that promote international understanding
  • Encouragement of others who seek to contribute to the community
  • Dedication to the fight for justice and equal opportunity for all people, and
  • Willingness to assume responsibility for leadership

In 2006, the Denver Civic Leadership Award was established to honor the legacy of Monte Pascoe and the first award was given to Monte Pascoe posthumously.  Since August 2007, the award has been presented annually by the Denver Mayor to a member of the community who exemplifies the civic leadership qualities demonstrated by Monte Pascoe.

Throughout his lifetime, Monte Pascoe’s actions exemplified the importance of civic engagement and leadership.  He is remembered for his personal convictions and courage, and earned the respect of the community for his constant acts in support of those convictions.  Pascoe played a key role in shaping the history of Denver. He helped file a lawsuit that was heard by the U.S. Supreme Court which ordered Denver Public Schools to desegregate its educational facilities. His willingness to respond to the broad needs of Colorado was reflected in leadership positions including President of the Board of Trustees of the Iliff School of Theology and board membership with the Colorado School of Mines, the Colorado Open Lands Foundation, Colorado Water Conservation Board and many more.

A nomination form is available online at Completed forms should be submitted by 5 p.m. Friday, April 20, 2012, to Jamie Torres, at or 201 W. Colfax Ave., Dept. 1102, Denver, CO 80202.

Past award recipients include: Monte Pascoe (2006), Les Woodward (2007), Jim Bye (2008), Kenzo Kawanabe (2009), Noel Cunningham (2010), Dottie Lamm (2011).

Posted on Apr 02, 2012 (Archive on Apr 21, 2012)
Posted by kpellegrin  Contributed by kpellegrin