Art Gallery Liquor Permit

An art gallery that offers complimentary beer, wine and liquor for consumption only on the premises.

This is not a license to sell alcohol, but a permit to serve it on a complimentary basis.

An art gallery permit holder will not, directly or indirectly, sell alcohol by the drink, will not serve alcohol for more than four hours in any one day, and will not serve alcohol more than 15 days per year of the permit.

 

How to Submit an Application

There are several ways to submit a new or renewal application to the Department of Excise and Licenses. If renewing, include your business file number.

  1. All license applications not available online can be submitted by email to EXLSubmit@denvergov.org. When applying, attach all documents to one email. Visit the email application process page for more information.
  2. You can mail your application with fees to:

City and County of Denver
Department of Excise and Licenses
201 W. Colfax Ave., Dept. 206
Denver, CO 80202

Make checks payable to: Manager of Finance

3. You can pay fees online or by phone after the application has been submitted. You will receive an invoice and you can pay virtually. Visit the online payment process page for more information.

For questions, email licenses@denvergov.org or call 311.

How to Get an Art Gallery Permit

Step 1: Application process

  • Applications for art gallery permits are filed with the Department of Excise and Licenses no later than 30 days before the date of a desired event.  The director of the Department could exercise discretion to waive the 30-day requirement in instances where an applicant has, within the previous two years, been qualified for an art gallery permit.
  • Applicants must list each day alcohol will be served.
  • Applicants cannot change the days without at least 15 days' notice to local and state licensing authorities.
  • An application cannot be denied solely based on a proposed location’s proximity to public or private schools or the main campus of a college, university or seminary.

 

Step 2: Conditions

  • Complimentary beer, wine and alcohol is served for consumption only on the licensed premises.
  • An art gallery liquor permit holder will not, directly or indirectly, sell alcohol by the drink.
  • There will be no entrance fee or cover charge.
  • The art gallery will not intentionally allow more than 250 people on the licensed premises at any one time while alcohol is being served.
  • No alcohol will be served more than four hours in any one day.
  • No alcohol will be served for more than 15 days per permit year.
  • Art gallery liquor permits are subject to the same requirements and penalties of the Colorado Liquor Code as other licenses.
  • Art gallery liquor permits-permit holders are legally responsible for the control of the alcohol on their premises.
  • There can be no self-service of alcohol under an art gallery permit.
  • Control of alcohol on patios will be enforced under the art gallery permit.
  • Art gallery liquor permit holders must purchase inventory only from licensed liquor wholesalers, but can purchase up to $500 worth of alcohol during a calendar year from a retail liquor store.

 

Step 3: Required documents

Application forms and business entity documents are required. All documents must be submitted in duplicate – one for the City and County of Denver and the original for the State of Colorado. Documents must be printed in black ink or typewritten. Photocopies are accepted.

  • Make sure no staples are in the documents.
  • Art Gallery Liquor Permit Application(PDF, 167KB) 
  • Right of possession documents (lease or deed). The lease must be valid for at least 90 days from when the application is submitted.
  • Attach a diagram of the premises that reflects where the alcohol will be stored, served, possessed or consumed. Make two copies of this diagram. One should have the liquor license area outlined in red. One should have the liquor licenses area outlined in black.

 

Step 4: Fees

State fees:  $71.25 made payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue

Local fees:  $103.75 made payable to the Manager of Finance

 

Step 5: Get your permit

Your permit will be issued when the following actions are taken: 

  1. All required documents are complete and submitted to the office
  2. All fees are paid
  3. All approvals are given by the state and local offices.

You should stay in touch with the Department of Excise and Licenses during the application process as each step can vary from the general steps described herein depending on your particular circumstances.

 

 

Renew Art Gallery Liquor Permit

Required documents

  • Art Gallery Liquor Permit Application(PDF, 167KB) 
  • List of 15 days that alcohol will be served
  • Right of possession documents (lease or deed). The lease must be valid for at least 90 days from when the application is submitted.
  • Attach a diagram of the premises that reflects where where alcohol will be stored, served, possessed or consumed. 

 All documents for renewal, including Colorado state applications, must be submitted to the Denver Department of Excise and Licenses.

 No documents should be submitted to the Colorado state office.

 

Renewal fees

State fees:  $71.25 made payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue

Local fees:  $103.75 made payable to the Manager of Finance 

 

Late renewals

Licenses must be renewed on or before the expiration date to avoid penalty fees.

90-day grace period

There is a 90-day grace period from the expiration date during which licenses can be renewed for a penalty fee.

Late application fee:  $500 made payable to the Manager of Finance

After 90 days: A new license application is required.

 

Renewal policies

Department of Excise and Licenses inspectors will attempt to locate and notify business license holders of the approaching expiration date.  But failure of an inspector to notify a delinquent licensee that its license has expired does not excuse the licensee from any applicable late penalty.