About Our Office

1. Overview and Staff Directory

Denver's Office of Climate Action, Sustainability and Resiliency is tasked with urgently responding to the climate crisis. We do this by:

  • Mitigating the causes of climate change 
  • Adapting to the impacts we are already experiencing
  • Building resiliency in our communities to prepare for the impacts to come
  • Underscoring this work is compassion for our neighbors who are most vulnerable to climate change.

Mission

CASR's mission is to:

  • Act with urgency to proactively mitigate climate change by advancing science-based strategies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions on a scale and timeline that align with the recommendations from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change;
  • Cultivate resiliency in the face of potential climate change-related emergencies;
  • Secure an economically, socially, and environmentally sustainable city for generations to come; and
  • Ensure that the setting of goals and metrics and monitoring of results considers equity

Vision

CASR grounds its work in the following vision statements:

  • All people deserve affordable access to the resources needed to achieve a high quality of life.
  • We embrace citizen action and collaborate with communities to ensure environmental justice, equity, and affordability.
  • Denver is a leader in clean and local energy that comes from the sun, wind, or other innovative renewable technologies.
  • Denver is transforming buildings and homes into high-performing, healthy places to live, work, learn, and play and providing the necessary resources for local businesses to achieve their sustainability goals every day.
  • Mobility options in Denver allow people to efficiently walk, bike, take transit, or carpool for most trips in a safe, accessible, and affordable transportation network.
  • Residents have a direct connection to the natural environment and participate in caring for it for current and future generations.
  • Denver should strive to create a circular economy, where all materials and natural resources are preserved, reused, recycled or repurposed.

Staff Directory

Chief Climate Officer

Grace Rink, Chief Climate Officer

Grace Rink assumed her role as Chief Climate Officer for the City and County of Denver on March 16, 2020.

Prior to her position at the City, Rink was the President & CEO of Quercus Consulting, the top-grossing woman-owned sustainability consulting firm in the Chicago metropolitan area. As President & CEO, Quercus has been the leading sustainability consultant for metro Chicago local governments, including Lake County, IL, the City of Highland Park, the Chicago Housing Authority, and multiple City of Chicago Departments. Rink led the development of the nation's first multi-jurisdictional RFP for solar power covering Lake County and 11 municipalities; managed implementation of a solid waste and food scrap diversion program for the Lake County Jail, resulting in a waste reduction of over 50 percent; and conducted multiple economic impact studies of environmentally beneficial transitions, including electric vehicles and energy efficiency rebates, demonstrating significant financial benefits to the local economy.

In the past, Rink served as a Senior Project Manager for AECOM (2007-2012), where she provided sustainability consulting – including leading multiple sustainability plans and studies – in the areas of water, transportation, environment, planning and architecture for Chicago-area local governments and LEED certified Silver and Gold projects. From 2001-2007, Rink served as the Assistant Commissioner for the Chicago Department of Environment where she managed Greencorps Chicago, a green jobs training program, and the Chicago Center for Green Technology, the nation’s first LEED Platinum municipal building.

Grace.Rink@denvergov.org

Climate and Energy

Elijas Sliva
Intern
Elijas.Sliva@denvergov.org 

Elizabeth Babcock
Climate Team Manager
Elizabeth.Babcock@denvergov.org

Drew Halpern
Energy Project Manager
Andrew.Halpern@denvergov.org

Jonathan Rogers
Renewable Energy Specialist
Jonathan.Rogers@denvergov.org  

Communications and Community Engagement

Chelsea Warren
Communications Specialist
Chelsea.Warren@denvergov.org

Cory Manning
Engagement Coordinator
Cory.Manning@denvergov.org

Emily Schosid
Communications Associate
Emily.Schosid@denvergov.org 

Jorge Figueroa
Community Partnerships Administrator
Jorge.Figueroa@denvergov.org

Lauren Arline
Digital Marketing Content Coordinator
Lauren.Arline@denvergov.org

Megan Stansell
Certifiably Green Denver Administrator
Megan.Stansell@denvergov.org

Taylor Moellers
Sustainable Neighborhoods Program Manager
Taylor.Moellers@denvergov.org 

Finance and Administration

Alen Ribic
Fiscal Administrator
Alen.Ribic@denvergov.org

Anna Erickson
Disposable Bag Fee Program Administrator
Anna.Erickson@denvergov.org

Inna Kuzovova
Senior Accountant
Inna.Kuzovova@denvergov.org

Natalie Lana
Disposable Bag Fee Program Administrator
Natalie.Lana@denvergov.org

Regina Diaz
Procurements and Contracts Administrator
Regina.Diaz@denvergov.org

Timothy Strach
Finance and Administration Manager
Timothy.Strach@denvergov.org

Green Workforce

Shannon Jahn
Green Workforce Lead
Shannon.Jahn@denvergov.org

Jessmine Anderson
Green Workforce Program Manager
Jessmine.Anderson@denvergov.org

High Performance Buildings and Homes

Berenice Garcia Tellez
Energize Denver Equitable Implementation Administrator
Berenice.GarciaTellez@denvergov.org

Courtney Anderson
Net Zero New Buildings and Homes Administrator
Courtney.Anderson@denvergov.org

Daniel Raynor
Energize Denver Outreach Administrator
Daniel.Raynor@denvergov.org

Jan Keleher
Building Electrification Specialist
Jan.Keleher@denvergov.org 

Jeff Tejral
Building Decarbonization Incentives Manager
Jeff.Tejral@denvergov.org

Katrina Managan
Director of Buildings and Homes
Katrina.Managan@denvergov.org

Lucy Ehrenclou
Existing Buildings Programs Administrator
Lucy.Ehrenclou@denvergov.org

Mac Parther
Residential Energy Efficiency Incentives Program Manager
Mac.Prather@denvergov.org

Maria Thompson
Energize Denver Operations Administrator
Maria.Thompson@denvergov.org

Sam Domeier
Building Electrification Incentives Administrator
Samuel.Domeier@denvergov.org

Sharon Jaye
Energize Denver Policy Manager
Sharon.Jaye@denvergov.org

Thomas Gleason
Green Building Outreach Administrator
Thomas.Gleason@denvergov.org

Resilience and Adaptation

Bradley Paterson
Administrator
Brad.Paterson@denvergov.org

Resource Management

Rebecca Goyton
Education Program Assistant
Rebecca.Goyton@denvergov.org 

Transportation and Mobility

Ian Harwick
Electrified Mobility Community Programs Administrator
Ian.Harwick@denvergov.org

Mike Salisbury
Transportation Energy Lead
Mike.Salisbury@denvergov.org

Natasha Way
Electrified Mobility Intern
Natasha.Way@denvergov.org

        

2. Colorado Open Records Act (CORA) Requests

The Office of Climate Action, Sustainability and Resiliency (CASR) is an agency of the City and County of Denver and will make public records available in accordance with the applicable provisions of the Colorado Open Records Act (“CORA”), Colorado Revised Statutes §24-72-201, et seq.  

CASR follows the City and County of Denver’s CORA Fee Policy found here: denvergov.org/cora

Please read through the following information to determine if a CORA request is necessary, and if CASR is the appropriate agency to request documentation from.  

CORA Request Requirements

Requests made under the Colorado Open Records Act must be made in writing and must include the following:  

  • Requestor’s full name, address and telephone number
  • Subject matter to be searched in as descriptive terms as possible 
  • Dates of search
  • Types of documents to be searched (email, written documents, reports, etc.)
  • A statement that the request is made pursuant to the provisions of the Colorado Open Records Act, Colorado Revised Statutes §24-72-201, et seq. 

If you are unable to provide a request in writing due to a disability, please contact the Denver Office for Disability Rights for assistance. 

DisabilityAccess@denvergov.org
TTY: (720) 913-8475 
Fax: (720) 913-8470 


Public Solicitation Documentation

Staff will attempt to provide records in the form in which they are used by CASR. Generally, staff will not manipulate data to generate a record in another form with the exception of those specific elements in materials such as a public solicitation proposal administered by CASR  where a proposal has been designated by the proposer as Business or Trade Secrets and plainly marked “Trade Secrets”, “Confidential”, “Proprietary”, or “Trade Secret.”  

Scoring evaluations from a public solicitation are a deliberative process and privileged information. CASR shall withhold such documentation pursuant to the deliberative process privilege, and if necessary provide an affidavit asserting the privilege.

Contracts, Agreements and Ordinances

The Denver City Charter names the Office of the Clerk and Recorder as the official custodian for all contracts and agreements for the City and County of Denver. If you are requesting one of these documents please submit a CORA request to the Clerk and Recorder. 

Office of the Clerk and Recorder 

Call: 720-865-8400 or 311

clerkandrecorder@denvergov.org 

Requests for records held by other city departments will be declined and customers will be referred to the department(s) believed to be custodians of the records.

 

 

If it is determined that a CORA request is necessary and CASR is the appropriate agency to request documentation from, please complete the form below:

Click here to view form.

3. Equity 

The Office of Climate Action, Sustainability & Resiliency centers equity in all our work. We partner with the Office of Social Equity & Innovation to promote social equity, and race and social justice.

  • The Climate Protection Fund specifies that the fund “should, over the long term, endeavor to invest fifty percent (50%) of the dedicated funds directly in the community with a strong lens toward equity, race, and social justice.” 
  • Our office fosters a culture of equity among staff and embeds the principles of equity and climate justice in our work. The actions listed below are in effect as of 2021.

    • Individual performance goals that make equitable outcomes of our work measurable.
    • Individual development goals that foster a culture of equity within our team.
    • Agency-wide conversations, facilitated sessions, and training centered on equity.
    • Implicit bias training for staff participating in the hiring process.
    • Our Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion team tracks our progress, facilitates collaboration, and serves as a liaison to the Office of Social Equity and Innovation.

4. Recent News