Denver Announces Appointment of Sustainability Advisory Council

Published on April 22, 2021

DENVER — Denver today announced the appointment of its Sustainability Advisory Council, which will provide advice and recommendations to Denver’s Office of Climate Action, Sustainability and Resiliency (CASR) for advancing the city’s ambitious climate goals and the effective implementation of the Climate Protection Fund’s (CPF) five-year strategic plan. CASR received over 300 applications to serve on the Council. 

“The Sustainability Advisory Council brings together a wealth of knowledge and diverse perspectives and experiences from the community,” Mayor Michael B. Hancock said. “This connection to the community is paramount to successfully and equitably implementing projects, programs, and policies that will help Denver address climate change here locally while improving quality of life, especially for Denver’s most under-resourced residents.” 

The Sustainability Advisory Council (SAC) has six standing committees, the co-chairs of which are the appointees to the SAC, joined by two at-large committee members and one representative of City Council, for a total of 15 individuals. The standing committees and SAC appointments are as follows: 

Buildings & Homes Committee Co-chairs: 

  • Aaron Martinez, Urban Land Conservancy  
  • Stephen Shepard CAE, Denver Metro BOMA  

Community Adaptation, Resiliency, & Environmental Justice Committee Co-chairs: 

  • Kiera Jackson, Montbello Organizing Committee 
  • Ynes Barrales Ortega, The Growhaus 

Energy Committee Co-chairs: 

  • Anna McDevitt, Sierra Club  
  • Armando Lopez Jr., Iontra  

Resource Management Committee Co-chairs: 

  • Laurie Mathews, Global Dental Relief 
  • Margaret McRoberts, Founder of Stella Sustainability 

Science & Research Committee Co-chairs: 

  • Jay Lemery, University of Colorado School of Medicine 
  • Lisa Reyes Mason, University of Denver Graduate School of Social Work 

Sustainable Transportation Committee Co-chairs:

  • Naomi Amaha, The Denver Foundation
  • Stuart M. Anderson, Transportation Solutions Foundation 

At-Large Committee Members: 

  • Aylene McCallum, Downtown Denver Partnership 
  • Marcel McClinton, PeaceJam Foundation 

Council President Stacie Gilmore selected Councilman Paul Kashmann to serve as City Council’s representative to the SAC. 

“I am excited to provide a voice for the BIPOC communities I serve and represent in this work, as well as help support future generations in creating sustainable and supportive communities,” said Kiera Jackson, SAC appointee and Community Adaptation, Resiliency & Environmental Justice committee co-chair. 

“With the addition of the six standing committees to the SAC structure, Denver provided more opportunities for community participation,” said Stephen Shepard, SAC appointee and Buildings & Homes committee co-chair. “This ultimately creates a more enterprising and representative group of residents and businesses to work through the challenges ahead together.” 

The SAC will meet at least quarterly and each committee will meet at least six times per year. It is anticipated that meetings of the SAC and committees will be held virtually (online) through most of 2021. SAC meetings will be livestreamed at, and the first meeting will be held on May 5, 2021 at 3:00 pm.  

For a complete list of standing committee members and SAC meeting dates, visit:




Mayor Michael Hancock and the Denver City Council created the Office of Climate Action, Sustainability and Resiliency to manage the City's ambitious emission reduction goals and sustainability programs in collaboration with fellow departments, other units of government, and community partners. The office ensures that the City's targets are aligned with current climate science, promotes the role that climate action and sustainability play in strengthening Denver's economic vitality and a prosperous future for all residents and businesses, and embraces equity as a value and practice in all of its work.

Tagged as: