American Indian Commission

The Denver American Indian Commission advocates on behalf of Denver's American Indian community. 

Commission Meetings

Monthly meetings take place on the second Wednesday of every month.

Meeting Time: 
5:00pm - 6:30pm

Meeting ID: 943 8604 1582
Passcode: DAIC

If you need a sign language interpreter or CART Services, contact with at least a three (3) business day notice. For other public accommodation requests/concerns related to a disability, please contact

Commission Members


Kristina Maldonado Bad Han (Sicangu Lakota/Cherokee)*Chair

Danielle SeeWalker (Hunkpapa Lakota) *Chair

David Right (Western Cherokee)

Donna Chrisjohn (Lakota/Navajo)

Jonathan Nelson

Joshua Emerson (Dine’)

Kimberly Varilek (Eastern Shoshone/Oglala Lakota)

Merv Tano (Sicangu Lakota)

Queana Maher (Native Hawaiian/Indigenous Puerto Rican)

Rafael Maldonado Bad Hand (Nahutl)

Richard Henson (Comanche/Winnebago)

Shawna Maher (Cheyenne River Sioux)

Thomas Allen (Sac & Fox/No. Arapaho/Euchee)


Commission Bylaws

Denver-American-Indian-Commission-Bylaws.pdf(PDF, 99KB)