LGBTQ Commission

The Denver Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Commission (LGBTQ) Commission partners with the community to advance social, economic, and political equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer people using its unique position within the City and County of Denver.

Purpose Statements

  • Advise the Human Rights and Community Partnership's Executive Director and the Mayor on the critical issues and opportunities facing the LGBTQ community. 
  • Recommend legislation, policies, programs, procedures, or administrative actions that advance social, economic, and political equality for the LGBTQ community, or oppose those that do not.
  • Support efforts to organize, educate, and mobilize the LGBTQ community through coalition building, and coordination with allied individuals, groups, and organizations.

Read The 2023 LGBTQ Commission-Bylaws(PDF, 202KB)

Commission Members

Kat Ling *Chair

Josie Nixon *Vice-Chair

Chris Zivalich

Jack Teter

Stacey Beckman

Kyle Legleiter

Autumn Wright

Liz Mueller

Rex Fuller

Eric Smith

Martha Lewis

Alexander Yu

Miguel Bañuelos-García

Marcie Smith

Cody Ostenson

Sam York Casanova

Melinda Higgs

DeVonne Austin

Caitlin Long


Helpful Resources