Please note: In 2024, DMV branches will have rotating closures. View a schedule of all closures.
Visit Air Care Colorado at AirCareColorado.com to find the emissions station closest to you.
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles requires residents of Denver County to get emissions inspections as part of the State's overall strategy to improve air quality throughout Denver and the front range. Vehicles from a model year of 1981 or older must have an emissions test annually; vehicles from model year 1982 and newer must test every other year. You must obtain an emissions test:
Students, military personnel, and other Colorado residents who are temporarily out of state may file for an emission extension. For rules and regulations on how to file and other special circumstances, visit the State of Colorado website.
Find Test Locations & More at AirCare Colorado
Proof of valid vehicle insurance coverage is required by state law. The Department of Motor Vehicle will accept an insurance card, copy of insurance policy or letter from your insurance company on their letterhead including a description of the vehicle with the following information: year, make, model, vehicle identification number (VIN), effective date and expiration date of the policy. We will also accept proof of insurance displayed electronically via smartphone.
Even if you have provided proof of insurance in the past, you may be asked to provide it again if your insurance carrier has not transmitted data for your proof of insurance to the State of Colorado. Insurance companies are required by law to provide necessary information on their policy holders to the State database by the seventh day of each month. If your insurance company has not submitted this information in time, you will need to provide proof of insurance to the DMV by mail or fax, before your registration can be renewed. If you are renewing at a kiosk, please wait 2-4 days after updating your auto insurance to renew at the kiosk. This allows time for your insurance to provide updated information to our statewide vehicle registration system. The kiosk cannot accept paper proof. Your renewal postcard will indicate if you need proof of insurance.
Contact your insurance company to provide proper verification.
Want to renew online but need an emissions test? No problem! Get your emissions test and wait approximately 48 hours. The emissions information will be uploaded to the state portal during that time frame and you will be able to renew online.