Downtown Design Advisory Board


The Downtown Design Advisory Board was established in 2019. The nine-member board has design review oversight of proposed projects in the Golden Triangle, Central Platte Valley-Auraria and Arapahoe Square areas of downtown Denver and serves as the next step towards a more consistent and comprehensive design review system for all of downtown. 

General Meeting Information

  • Time and date: 10:30 a.m., the second and fourth Tuesday of every month, as needed. 
  • Location: Meetings are currently being held virtually via Zoom.
  • Accessibility: If you need a sign language interpreter or CART Services, contact at least three business days ahead of the meeting you'd like to attend. For other public accommodation requests/concerns related to a disability, please contact


Board members are Denver residents appointed by the mayor for three-year terms on a volunteer basis. The board consists of:

  • four design professionals, one of whom must be a landscape architect
  • one development industry representative
  • three downtown-area residents 
  • one downtown-area property owner
Name Role Term expiration
Dan Craine - Board Vice-Chair Design professional 5/1/2022
Kim Kliewer Downton resident 5/1/2020
Sarah Komppa - Board Chair Design professional 5/1/2022
Ryan Meeks Design professional 5/1/2020
Melissa Rummel Development industry representative 5/1/2021
Matt Shawaker Design professional (landscape architect) 5/1/2022
Anthony Spikes Downtown property owner 5/1/2021

Areas of Oversight

The Downtown Design Advisory Board reviews proposed projects in the Golden Triangle, Arapahoe Square and CPV-Auraria. Board review may extend to other areas of downtown in the future.

 Downtown Design Advisory Board Coverage Area Map(PDF, 2MB)

Download coverage area map(PDF, 2MB)

Governing Documents

  • Bylaws (to be posted soon)

Design Standards and Guidelines

Downtown Design Advisory Board Submittal Checklists