National Nonpartisan Conversation on Voter Rights

National Nonpartisan Conversation on Voter Rights logo

Mayor Michael B. Hancock and Mayor Lori Lightfoot to co-chair the National Nonpartisan Conversation on Voter Rights  

In the 2021 legislative sessions alone, more than 400 bills with expansive provisions to restrict voter access have been introduced in 49 states. Eighteen states have already enacted laws this year that will make it harder for Americans to vote, in the most aggressive wave of voter restrictions our nation has seen in decades. Civic leaders across the country are being moved to action to reverse this assault on voter rights. With federal efforts stalling due to obstruction in Congress, local officials are leading the way to protect access to the ballot box.

Denver Mayor Michael B. Hancock and Chicago Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot of Chicago are convening stakeholders including mayors, legislators, county clerks, election administrators and community leaders to take a seat at the table of history and develop a framework for implementing national strategies to protect, defend and promote voter rights and access to the ballot box. The National Nonpartisan Conversation on Voter Rights, taking place from Oct. 21-23, will convene these officials to set a national action plan to end gerrymandering, ensure safe access to the ballot, and prevent partisan efforts that diminish voter access, especially in communities of color.



Sponsors of the National Nonpartisan Conversation on Voter Rights

  • Mr. Earvin “Magic” Johnson
    NBA Legend, Entrepreneur, Philanthropist
  • Honorable Lori E. Lightfoot
    Mayor, Chicago, IL
  • Honorable Sylvester Turner
    Mayor, Houston, TX and President, African American Mayors Association
  • Honorable Nan Whaley
    Mayor, Dayton, OH and President, U.S. Conference of Mayors
  • Honorable Tishaura Jones
    Mayor, St. Louis, MO
  • Honorable Frank Scott
    Mayor, Little Rock, AR
  • Honorable Eric Adams
    Democratic Nominee for Mayor, NYC, NY
  • Honorable Greg Fischer
    Mayor, Louisville, KY
  • Honorable Steve Adler
    Mayor, Austin, TX
  • Honorable Steve Benjamin
    Mayor, Columbia, SC
  • Honorable Steve Reed
    Mayor, Montgomery, AL
  • Honorable Dr. Hardie Davis, Jr.
    Mayor, Augusta, GA
  • Honorable Ron Reynolds
    State Representative, Texas
  • Honorable Clarence E. Anthony
    CEO & Executive Director, National League of Cities
  • Honorable Levar Stoney
    Mayor Richmond, VA
  • Honorable Jennifer Bacon
    State Representative, Colorado
  • Honorable Vince Williams
    Mayor, Union City, GA
  • Honorable Marc H. Morial
    President and CEO of the National Urban League
  • Honorable London Breed
    Mayor, San Francisco, CA
  • Honorable Amber McReynolds
    USPS Board of Governors
  • Honorable Wellington E. Webb
    Former Mayor of Denver, CO
  • Honorable Wilma J. Webb
    Former Colorado State Representative
  • Mr. Jim Reynolds
    CEO, Loop Capital, LLC
  • The Democratic Mayors Association
  • African American Mayors Association

In The News