Skip navigation

Translate This Page

Where We Get Input

The Office of Climate Action, Sustainability, and Resiliency gets its most direct input through several committees and workgroups.


Sustainability Advisory Council

The Sustainability Advisory Council provides advice and recommendations for advancing climate action, sustainability, and resiliency work within the City and County of Denver and throughout the entire Denver community. The majority of the council is appointed by the Mayor and includes two members of City Council. The Council has the following functions:

  • Provide advice and recommendations to the staff of Denver’s Office of Climate Action, Sustainability, and Resiliency concerning the policies, programs, operations, budget and fundraising of the Office. The Council is not involved in policies, decisions and actions related to personnel.
  • Assist the staff in connecting with people and organizations that can provide advice, support and resources for the operation of the Office.
  • Initiate projects of its own that supplement or support the programs of the Office and that are consistent with the policies of the Office and of the City and County of Denver. The Advisory Council does not have the authority to speak for the City and County of Denver or otherwise to commit Denver to any course of action or inaction, but it may submit comments to the Mayor, other City departments and agencies, and the City Council on matters of policy.
  • Promote and communicate the principles of sustainability broadly among the community and peer networks.

The Mayor appoints the members of the Council. Members serve for a term of two years and may thereafter be reappointed for successive terms without limitation at the discretion of the Mayor. Current members include:

  • Jay April, Berkeley Regis United Neighbors
  • Kendra Black, Denver City Council
  • Devon Buckels, The Water Connection
  • Cindy Chang, Goundwork Denver
  • Jill Cooper, Independent Contrator (Vice Chair)
  • Alex Dane, Spark Policy Institute
  • Adrienne Dorsey, Grid Alternatives
  • Monique Dyers, Ensight Energy
  • Rudy Gonzales, Servicios de la Raza
  • Jennifer Hale, Denver Zoo
  • Monica Heintz, Arcadis US, Inc.
  • Jocelyn Hittle, Colorado State University
  • Stella Hodgkins, GE Johnson (Secretary)
  • Paul Kashmann, Denver City Council
  • Joyce Kennedy, People and Pollinators
  • Winna MacLaren, Community Member
  • Theron Makley, Independent Consultant
  • Hilda Nucete, League of Conservation Voters
  • Ashley Ruiz, McKinstry
  • Brenna Simmons-St.Onge, The Alliance Center
  • Casey Stock, DaVita (Chair)
  • Lauren Wilson, Xcel Energy


Advisory Council meetings are open to the public. The Advisory Council meets the third Wednesday of even-numbered months (February, April, June, etc.) from 3:00-5pm. The public is welcome to listen-in on Facebook Live at