Skip navigation

Landmark Preservation Commission

The function of the Landmark Preservation Commission is to designate, preserve, enhance, and perpetuate structures or districts that have architectural, historical, or geographical significance within the city of Denver.  

Agenda items for consideration can include the following:

  • Recommendations to City Council on historic designations
  • Design review for new construction, alterations, demolitions and zone lot amendments for designated historic  properties/districts
  • Review of historic rehabilitation tax credit projects
  • Adoption of policies and procedures related to historic preservation

View the Landmark Preservation Commission's consent agenda policy.


The commission generally meets the first and third Tuesday of each month. Submission deadlines are four weeks prior to the scheduled meeting date.

Enabling Authority

Denver Revised Municipal Code (DRMC) Chapter 30

Landmark Preservation Commission Bylaws (PDF) (last update July 20, 2010)

Commission Members

The commission is made up of nine members who serve three-year terms. They receive no compensation. Click here to view biographies and term limits.

 Member  Nominated By Term Expires 
 Sharon Elfenbein  History Colorado  March 31, 2016
 Andy Duckett-Emke  American Institute of Architects  March 31, 2018
 Abigail Christman  History Colorado  March 31, 2017
 Martin Goldstein (Chair)  Denver Planning Board  March 31, 2018
 Ryan Holdorf  American Society of Landscape Architects  March 31, 2018
 Douglas Walter  American Institute of Architects  March 31, 2017
 Charles Jordy (Vice-chair) Denver Planning Board  March 31, 2016
 Kathleen Corbett  At Large  March 31, 2018
 Amy Zimmer  At Large  March 31, 2016

Want to serve on the commission?

If you are interested in serving on the Landmark Preservation Commission, contact the Denver Boards and Commissions office for more information and an application form.


Members of the Landmark Preservation Commission are appointed by the mayor and must include the following:

  • two recommended by Denver's American Institute of Architecture 
  • two recommended by the Colorado Historical Society 
  • two recommended by the Planning Board 
  • two at-large members 
  • one member appointed by the American Society of Landscape Architects

Members must be residents of the city of Denver.



Preparing for Meetings

Submission Deadlines
Download the 2016 Submission Meeting Dates and Deadlines (PDF) to learn more about when to submit materials.

Presentation Materials 
Download the Policy for Applicant Presentations (PDF) to learn more about preparing your presentation for the Landmark Preservation Commission (LPC) and the Lower Downtown Design Review Board (LDDRB).

What to Expect at the Meetings
Download the the handout What to Expect at a Landmark Preservation Commission Meeting (PDF) to become more familiar with the standard procedures.

Comments from the Public
To speak at LPC meetings or submit written comments on agenda items, see LPC Public Comment Policy (PDF).

Contact Us

Landmark Preservation Office:

Permit counter hours and location:
9 - 11 a.m., Monday - Friday
or by appointment