Skip navigation

Lower Downtown Design Review Board

The function of the Lower Downtown Design Review Board is to preserve, enhance, and perpetuate structures that have architectural, historical, or geographical significance within the lower downtown historic district.  

Agenda items for consideration can include the following:

  • Recommendations to City Council on the contributing (or historic) status of structures within the district
  • Design review for new construction, alterations, signs and demolitions
  • Approval of proposed parking in excess of minimum parking requirements delineated in the Denver Zoning Code
  • Adoption of design guidelines, policies and procedures related to historic preservation within the district

View the Lower Downtown Design Review Board consent agenda policy (PDF).


The Board meets the first Thursday of each month. Design review applications, and other applications for board consideration, are due 3 weeks and 2 days (23 days) prior to the first Thursday meeting.  If the Board receives more than 2 applications for infill construction or more than 5 total applications by the filing due date, the Board will hold an overflow meeting on the second Thursday of the month. The meeting agendas are generally filled on a first-come first-served basis (some exceptions apply) as determined by city staff.

Enabling Authority

Denver Revised Municipal Code (DRMC) Chapter 30

Lower Downtown Design Review Board Bylaws (PDF) (as of January 7, 2016)

Commission Members

The board is made up of seven members who serve three-year terms.  They receive no compensation.

Member  Representing Term Expires 
 Jesse Adkins  Owner or operator of a business in the district  May 1, 2017
 Christine Santucci  Resident of the District  May 1, 2018
 Ruth Falkenberg  Real estate developer  May 1, 2018
 Barb Gibson  Historic Preservationist  May 1, 2017
 Gerhard (Gary) Petri (vice-chair)  Preservation architect  May 1, 2017
 Tania Salgado (chair)  Practicing architect  May 1, 2018
 Ronald Straka  Property owner in district  May 1, 2017


Members are appointed by the mayor and must include the following groups, interests or professions:

  • Real estate developer with experience in rehabilitation of commercial/residential projects similar in scale to buildings in the district
  • Practicing architect
  • Historic preservationist
  • Preservation architect
  • Resident of the district
  • Property owner in the district
  • Owner or operator of a business in the district

Preparing for Meetings

Submission Deadlines
Download the 2016 Meeting Dates and Submission Deadlines (PDF) to learn more about when to submit materials.

Presentation Materials
Download the Policy for Applicant Presentations (PDF) to learn more about preparing your presentation for the Landmark Preservation Commission (LPC) and the Lower Downtown Design Review Board (LDDRB).

What to Expect at LDDRB Meetings
Download the handout What to Expect at a Lower Downtown Review Board Meeting (PDF) to become more familiar with the standard procedures. 


All files are in PDF format.



Lower Downtown Design Review Board meetings are held the 1st Thursday of the month at 7:30 a.m. 

Northern Trust Bank Community Room
(enter at 1400 16th Street)

All files are in PDF format.





NOTE:  If you need minutes from previous years, please contact the Landmark Preservation staff at

Contact Us

Landmark Preservation Office:

Permit counter hours and location:
9 - 11 a.m., Monday - Friday
or by appointment