Skip navigation

Planning Board

The Denver Planning Board advises the mayor and Denver City Council on land use matters including planning and zoning. The 11-member board reviews and makes recommendations on rezoning requests, plans, certain district design standards and guidelines, view planes and other land use rules and regulations.

The Denver Planning Board is established through the Denver Revised Municipal Code, Chapter 12, Article II, Division 2. The Planning Board follows the ordinance and the Planning Board By-Laws (PDF). For more information about Planning Board, see Frequently Asked Questions (PDF). 

Board Meetings

Planning Board meetings are held the first and third Wednesday of the month at 3 p.m. Agenda and supporting documents are posted one week prior to each meeting.

Webb Municipal Office Building
201 W Colfax Avenue
Room 4.F.6 and 4.G.2

Planning Board and Public Hearings

The sequence for most cases reviewed by the Denver Planning Board is as follows:

  1. Planning Board meeting (includes a public hearing)
  2. Denver City Council’s Neighborhoods and Planning (NAP) committee meeting (public hearing optional)
  3. Denver City Council meeting (includes a public hearing)


Board members are appointed by the mayor for three-year terms on a volunteer basis. Click here to read board member bios (PDF).

Term Expires 
 Andy Baldyga, Vice Chair  June 30, 2016
 Jim Bershof  June 30, 2016
 Shannon Gifford  June 30, 2015
 Renee Martinez-Stone  June 30, 2017
 Brittany Morris Saunders  June 30, 2016
 Joel Noble  June 30, 2017
 Susan Pearce  June 30, 2015
 Arleen Taniwaki  June 30, 2017
 Julie Underdahl, Chair  June 30, 2015
 Frank Schultz  June 30, 2015
 Chris Smith  June 30, 2017


Board Meetings

Next Meeting Date

November 18 (Agenda PDF)

Supporting Documents


November 4 (Agenda PDF)

Supporting Documents






View meeting records to previous meetings.