Skip navigation

Two New Members Appointed to Ethics Board

Denver Mayor Michael Hancock and the Denver City Council have appointed two new members of the Denver Board of Ethics:

Dianne Criswell is a Senior Associate Attorney at Kelly P.C., and has focused her career on government fiscal and legal work. She graduated from the University of Washington Law School and is licensed in Colorado and Washington State (inactive). She began her career in the Washington State Department of Revenue and then worked for the Washington State Senate Ways and Means Committee. Before joining Kelly P.C., she served as the Legislative Counsel at the Colorado Municipal League. Appointed by the Mayor, her term will expire May 1, 2023. She will replace Roy Wood.

Joseph G. Michaels is a Senior Assistant Attorney General for the Colorado Attorney General, where his practice focuses on appellate and criminal law. He received his J.D. from the University of Iowa College of Law. After law school, he clerked for the Hon. Arthur P. Roy at the Colorado Court of Appeals. He also is an adjunct instructor for the Community College of Denver’s paralegal program and a member of the Colorado Bar Association’s Ethics Committee. He was appointed by City Council to a term that expires on June 19, 2023. He will replace Patrick Tooley.

Board of Ethics members who will continue to serve are Sylvia Smith, Julia Hoffmeier and Andrew Armatas.