Merchant guard or merchant patrol shall mean any person who conducts or is engaged in the business of providing protection to persons and property, or preserving the peace in the conduct of any business, except a business or industrial guard.
A badge is not required to be worn with the merchant guard uniform. If a company decides to use a badge with their uniform, the company must ensure that the words "Police or Officer" do not appear on the badge or any other part of the uniform or equipment.
Note: A concealed carry permit does not negate the need for a "Armed Status" license/card from the Department of Excise and Licenses.
If you are a merchant guard , company owner or employee, contractor or have an interest in improving our processes, procedures and / or merchant guard ordinance, then we need your participation.
Check out the FAQ sheet to learn about how you can participate and let us know by December 31,2015 if you would like to be part of this important team.
You must have a debit or credit card to purchase your CBI Name Check here in our agency
You may choose the location, but you must obtain an exam from a licensed medical clinic or doctor's office. The clinic/doctor's office information must be included on the Evidence of Physical Condition Form.
Application Fee: $50.00
Annual License Fee: $25.00
CBI Name Check: $6.85
Fees can be paid with cash, check, money order or credit card. Checks should be made payable to Manager of Finance. Credit cards cannot be accepted over the phone or by mail.
Your license will be issued when the following actions are taken:
Renew in Person
Come to the Department of Excise and Licenses office.
Request a renewal for your business license.
Once all documentation is complete and background check is approved, you will be issued a payment voucher.
Take the payment voucher to the cashier and pay the renewal license fee.
Return to the Department of Excise and Licenses office with your receipt for payment.
Your business license will be printed.
Renew by Mail
You can mail a $25 check made payable to the Manager of Finance. Be sure to include your Business File Number (BFN) on your check. Your Business File Number is located on your license in the upper, left hand quadrant.
Office Hours and Location
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Webb Municipal Office Building
201 W. Colfax Avenue, 2nd Floor
All City Services: 311
Department of Excise and Licenses
201 W. Colfax Ave Dept. 206
Denver, CO 80202
Current Letter of Hire (within past 90 days)
Current Colorado Bureau of Investigations Background Check Report (within past 72 hours)
***If you are going to be applying for Armed Status when you renew your merchant guard license, please provide a national criminal background check in lieu of a Colorado Bureau of Investigation Background Check Report.
Expiring Merchant Guard badge
Licenses must be renewed on or before the expiration date to avoid penalty fees.
90 Day Grace Period
There is a 90 day grace period from the expiration date during which licenses can be renewed by paying for the license and a penalty fee.
First 30 days of grace period: 20% penalty fee
Days 31 - 90: 50% penalty fee
After 90 days: Licensees will be required to apply for a new license
Inspections and paperwork can take longer than you expect. Plan extra time to get your license.