Department of Excise and Licenses
Wellington Webb Building
201 West Colfax Ave.,
Room 2.H.9, Dept. 206
Denver, Colorado 80202
Dial 311 (or 720-913-1311 if outside Denver)
Note: Welcome to the Denver Business Licensing Center, the official website for the Department of Excise and Licenses. The Denver Department of Excise and Licenses provides you with the resources you need for a variety of licenses listed on our Index. If you need information regarding Sales Tax ,FDA, Lodger's, Occupational Privilege Tax, Special Event Sales Tax, Telecommunication Business Tax, and or Property Tax please contact the Treasury. If you do not see your type of business on our website, we cannot issue a license to you.
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Monday-Friday
Shortest wait time
8 a.m. - 10 a.m.
Longest wait time
11 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Please be in lobby by 3:00 p.m. to be served the same day.
Conducted at the Department of Excise and Licenses
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. daily.
You may obtain your CBI, $6.85, background check here by using our lobby computers until closing. You must have a debit/credit card. Background Checks cannot be more than 7 days old.
You cannot schedule a Marijuana appointment less than 24 hours before appointment time.
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. (Appointments and Walk-Ins) Monday-Friday
In order to pay for the cost of staff, custodians of public records within the City and County of Denver may charge for research and retrieval time necessary to respond to requests for records under the Colorado Open Records Act (“CORA”). Pursuant to C.R.S. §24-72-205(6), effective July 1, 2014, staff time may be charged at a rate not to exceed $30.00 per hour. There shall be no charge for the first hour of time for research and retrieval of records.