An overnight lodging facility with no more than twenty (20) sleeping rooms that provide at least one meal per day at no charge other than the overnight lodging fee.
A Zone Use Permit is required before obtaining a Bed and Breakfast permit.
Multiple interests are allowed with bed and breakfast permits in other bed and breakfast permits, hotel and restaurant licenses, tavern licenses, brew pub licenses, club licenses, arts licenses, racetrack licenses, public transportation system licenses, optional premises licenses, retail gaming tavern licenses, and vintner's restaurant license.
A 500 foot distance restriction from public and parochial schools, colleges, universities, and seminaries does not apply to bed and breakfast permit applications.
Application forms and business entity documents are required for the applications process. All documents must be submitted in duplicate – one copy for the City of Denver and the original copy for the Sate of Colorado. Documents must be printed in black ink or typewritten. Photocopies are accepted.
All documents are to be submitted to the Denver Department of Excise and Licenses.
State - $71.25 fee made payable to Colorado Department of Revenue
City - $1,000.00 + other fees assigned at time of application
Colorado Bureau of Investigations Fingerprinting: $38.50 per person for anyone that owns at least 10% of the business entity.
License fees will be calculated at the time the application is submitted to the City.
Your permit will be issued when the following actions are taken:
NOTE: You are encouraged to stay in touch with the Department of Excise and Licenses during your application process as each step can vary from the general steps described herein depending upon your own particular circumstances.
Renew in Person
Come to the Department of Excise and Licenses office.
Request a renewal for your Bed and Breakfast Permit.
Once all documentation is complete you will be issued a payment voucher.
Take the payment voucher to the cashier and pay the renewal license fee.
Return to the Department of Excise and Licenses office with your receipt for payment.
Your permit will be printed.
Renew by Mail
You can mail in your renewal along with a check made payable to the Manager of Finance for the total state fees due. Be sure to include your Business File Number (BFN) on your check.
Office Hours and Location
8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Webb Municipal Office Building
201 W. Colfax Avenue, 2nd Floor
Department of Excise and Licenses
201 W. Colfax Ave Dept. 206
Denver, CO 80202
All documents submitted for renewal, including Colorado State applications, must be submitted to the Denver Department of Excise and Licenses.
Licenses must be renewed on or before the expiration date to avoid penalty fees.
90 Day Grace Period
There is a 90 day grace period from the expiration date during which licenses can be renewed for a penalty fee.
First 30 days of grace period: 20% penalty fee
Days 31 - 90: 50% penalty fee
After 90 days: Licensees will be required to apply for a new license
Inspections and paperwork can take longer than you expect. Plan extra time to get your license.