Skip navigation

Brew Pub License

A brew pub is a retail establishment that manufactures no more than 1,860,000 gallons of beer on its premises each year.


  • Sale, service and consumption of beer, wine, and liquor by the drink for on-premises; manufacture of beer on the licensed premises and:
    • May furnish manufactured beer for consumption on the licensed premises
    • May sell the manufactured beer to independent wholesalers for distribution to retailers
    • May sell the manufactured beer by the package for off-premises consumption
    • Off-premises consumption sales of manufactured beer are prohibited on Sundays
    • May sell the manufactured beer at wholesale to licensed retailers in amounts of up to 300,000 gallons per calendar year
  • Must have a full kitchen with adequate equipment to prepare meals; meals must be available between 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m.; sandwiches and light snacks after 8:00 p.m.
    • Meals must be prepared on the licensed premises, unless prepared at a licensed kitchen under the licensee's exclusive management and control
    • At least 15% of the gross on-premises food and drink income of the business must be from the sale of food


Seven days a week between 7:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m.

Multiple ownership is legal with the following:

  • Other brew pub licenses
  • Vintner's restaurant licenses
  • Hotel and restaurant and tavern liquor licenses
  • Hotel and restaurant with optional premises
  • Retail gaming tavern licenses
  • Racetrack licenses
  • Arts licenses
  • Beer and wine licenses
  • Club licenses
  • Public transportation system license
  • 3.2% beer licenses.   

A 500 foot distance restriction from public and parochial schools, colleges, universities, and seminaries does not apply to new brew club applications.  (This is by rule and regulation of the Department of Excise and LIcenses.)


Application Fees:

State - $750.00

City - $1000.00




See documents required for the new  Liquor license application 

Names of all mangers of brew pub licenses provided to the Denver Department of Excise and Licenses and Colorado State Liquor and Tobacco Enforcement Division.

Additional documents may be required for this class of license.  Check with the Department of Excise and Licenses for specific requirements.

The names of all managers of brew pub licenses must be provided to the local and state licensing authorities whether a principal to the licensee or someone else manages the licensed premises.

Any changes in managers of brew pub licenses must be reported to both the City and the State within thirty days of the change in manager. 

A $100.00 background investigation fee will be assessed for any changes in the licensee's principals.


State Statutes

Colorado StatuesColorado Liquor
and Beer Laws


Plan Extra Time!

Date Icon

Inspections and paperwork can take longer than you expect. Plan extra time to get your license.