Skip navigation

Hotel and Restaurant

A hotel and restaurant license shall be issued to persons selling alcohol beverages in the place where the alcohol beverages are to be consumed.
 

Requirements

  • Sale, service and consumption of beer, wine, and liquor by the drink for on-premises consumption
  • Must have a full kitchen with adequate personnel, equipment, and food to prepare meals; meals must be available between 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m.; sandwiches and light snacks after 8:00 p.m.
    • Meals must be prepared on the licensed premises, unless prepared at a licensed kitchen under the licensee's exclusive management and control.
    • At least 25% of the gross annual income must be from the sale of food.

You are able to be open seven days a week between 7:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m., if you choose to do so. 

Multiple ownership is legal with the following other classes:

  • Other hotel and restaurant and tavern liquor licenses
  • Hotel and restaurant with optional premises
  • Retail gaming tavern licenses
  • Racetrack licenses
  • Brew pubs
  • Arts licenses
  • Beer and wine licenses
  • Club licenses
  • Public transportation system license
  • Vintner's restaurant licenses
  • 3.2% beer licenses

 

Please see the following information regarding the distance restriction between hotel and restaurant liquor licenses and schools:

Hotel/Restaurant 500 ft Distance Restriction

 

NOTE: Pursuant to the Department's August 2012 rule regarding distance from schools, this 500 foot distance restriction has been waived.

 

Application Fee:

State - $550.00 fee made payable to Colorado Department of Revenue + Liquor License Fees + Manager Registration Fees

State - $650.00 fee for Concurrent Review + Liquor License Fees + Manager Registration Fees

State - $550.00 fee for Transfer of Ownership + Liquor License Fees + Manager Registration Fees

City -   $1,000.00 + other fees assigned at time of application

Colorado Bureau of Investigations Fingerprinting:  $38.50 per person for anyone that owns at least 10% of the business entity.

License fees will be calculated at the time the application is submitted to the City.

See documents required for a liquor license application.

Manager Registration Form. A manager cannot be listed as a manager on more than one Hotel and Restaurant or Tavern liquor license.

Individual History Form for manager

Manager - Fingerprints

Additional documents may be required for this class of license.  Check with the Department of Excise and Licenses for specific requirements.

  • If someone other than a principal to the licensee manages the licensed premises, then the manager must register and pay a $75.00 fee to both the City and the State.
  • Any changes in managers must be reported within five days and new manager must be registered within 30 days.
  • With multiple owned hotel and restaurant liquor licenses, each location must have a separate and distinct manager from the other hotel and restaurant liquor licenses.
  • Full set of fingerprints for Managers

 

 

State Statutes

Colorado StatuesColorado Liquor
and Beer Laws
  

44-3-413

Plan Extra Time!

Date Icon

Inspections and paperwork can take longer than you expect. Plan extra time to get your license.