The Colorado State Liquor Enforcement Division will notify the licensee ninety (90) days prior to the expiration date of an existing license by first class mail at the business' last-known address.
There are a variety of ways that you can submit your New or Renewal application to the Department of Excise and Licenses. If renewing, please make sure to include your Business File Number (BFN) with the submittal.
1. In an effort to protect public safety, in-person customer service at Excise and Licenses is being offered by appointment only. Please visit our appointments website to make an appointment.
2. All license applications not available online can be submitted via email, EXLSubmit@denvergov.org, during this health crisis. Please visit our email application process page for more information on submitting email applications.
3. You may also mail in your application with fees to:
City and County of Denver
Department of Excise and License
201 W Colfax Ave, Dept. 206
Denver, CO 80202
Make checks payable to: Manager of Finance
You may also pay for your applications online or via phone once you have submitted your application to Excise and Licenses. We will send you an invoice and you may pay virtually. Please visit our online payment process page for more information on how to submit payment for your applications.
For questions, please email email@example.com or call 311.
Excise and Licenses will not offer fingerprinting services on site. This website offers information on fingerprinting services authorized by Colorado Applicant Background Services.
No paperwork should be sent back to the Colorado State Offices. All forms should be submitted directly to the Denver Department of Excise and Licenses.
The Colorado State Liquor and Tobacco Enforcement Division will send the applicant a renewal application.
The application must be submitted to the City of Denver Department of Excise and Licenses no later than 45 days prior and no earlier than 60 days prior to an expiration date.
Example: If a license expires on December 31, the renewal application must be submitted by November 16.
If the application is lost or not received, you may fill out the Colorado Retail Liquor or 3.2 License Renewal Application.
License renewal applications will not be approved by the Department earlier than 60 days prior to the expiration date of the existing license.
All documents submitted for renewal, including Colorado State applications, must be submitted to the Denver Department of Excise and Licenses.
Application forms and business entity documents are required for the applications process. All documents must be submitted in duplicate – one copy for the City of Denver and the original copy for the State of Colorado. Documents must be printed in black ink or typewritten. Photocopies are accepted.
All documents should be submitted to the Department of Excise and Licenses, 201 W. Colfax Ave. #206, Denver, CO 80202
Please Note new law mandates certain changes to the type of liquor license your establishment currently holds. This law is in regards to Retail 3.2 Beer On/Off Premises Licenses (FMB On-Off), Retail 3.2 Beer On-Premises License (FMB On), and Retail 3.2 Beer Off-Premises License (FMB Off).
No more Issuance or renewals of FMB On/Off licenses as of June 4, 2018:
● No Retail FMB On-Off licenses shall be issued new or renewed by the local or state
● Upon their annual renewal, an existing FMB On-Off licensee must convert to a FMB
On or FMB Off.
● In order to facilitate this request, the licensee must submit along with their renewal
application a written notification to their local licensing authority and state licensing
● If you have recently submitted a renewal application, the state licensing authority or
local licensing authority will be in contact with you so that you can communicate your
preference in writing.
● When you receive renewal paperwork from the state licensing authority 90 days prior to license expiration, this letter will accompany your renewal paperwork reminding you of this change.
● Submit your renewal application to your local licensing authority first . Notify them
in writing of your selected licensing preference.
Your license will not be renewed until this information is conveyed to your local licensing authority.
Licenses must be renewed on or before the expiration date to avoid penalty fees.
90 Day Grace Period
If funds paid to renew an existing liquor license are insufficient, the following procedures will be followed:
Inspections and paperwork can take longer than you expect. Plan extra time to get your license.