Skip navigation

Retail Liquor Store

Sale of beer, wine, and liquor by the package for off-premises consumption.  

Retail Liquor Stores may sell non-food items related to the consumption of liquor (e.g. soft drinks and mixers; tobacco products; coasters, glasses, stir sticks, etc.) 
 

Requirements

  • Sale, service and consumption of beer, wine, and liquor in sealed containers for off-premises consumption
  • May sell any nonalcoholic products as long as the annual gross revenues from such sales do not exceed 20%. (effective 7/1/2016)

Retail liquor stores may be open seven days a week between 8:00 a.m. and 12:00 Midnight.

Multiple ownership is not allowed with retail liquor store licenses except in an arts license or an airline public transportation system license or ownership of up to two total retail liquor store licenses which meet legal requirements. (effective 1/1/17)

A 500 foot distance restriction from public and parochial schools, colleges, universities, and seminaries applies to new retail liquor store applications.

A 1,500 foot distance restriction from another retail liquor store or liquor-licensed drugstore. (Effective 7/1/16)

Application Fee:

State - $1,550.00 fee made payable to Colorado Department of Revenue + Liquor License Fees

State - $1,650.00 fee for Concurrent Review + Liquor License Fees

State - $1,550.00 fee for Transfer of Ownership + Liquor License Fees

City -   $1,000.00 + other fees assigned at time of application

Colorado Bureau of Investigations Fingerprinting:  $38.50 per person for anyone that owns at least 10% of the business entity.

License fees will be calculated at the time the application is submitted to the City.

 

See documents required for a liquor license application.

Additional documents may be required for this class of license.  Check with the Department of Excise and Licenses for specific requirements.

The names of all managers of Retail Liquor Store licenses must be provided to the local and state licensing authorities whether a principal to the licensee or someone else manages the licensed premises.

 

State Statutes

Colorado StatuesColorado Liquor
and Beer Laws
  

44-3-409

Plan Extra Time!

Date Icon

Inspections and paperwork can take longer than you expect. Plan extra time to get your license.