Skip navigation

Vintner's Restaurant License

Vintner's restaurant is a retail establishment that sells food for consumption on the premises and that manufactures no more than 250,000 gallons of wine on its premises each year.


  • Sale, service and consumption of beer, wine, and liquor by the drink for on-premises consumption; manufacture wine on the licensed premises and may:
  • Furnish manufactured wine for consumption on the licensed premises
  • Sell the manufactured wine to independent wholesalers for distribution to retailers
  • Sell the manufactured wine by the package for off-premises consumption
  • On and off-premises consumption sales of manufactured wine are allowed on Sundays between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 midnight.
  • Sell the manufactured wine at wholesale to licensed retailers in the amounts of up to 50,000 gallons per calendar year.
  • Must have a full kitchen with adequate equipment to prepare meals; meals must be available under the licensee's exclusive management and control
  • At least 15% of the gross annual income from on-premises food and drink must be from the sale of food


Seven days a week between 7:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m.

Multiple ownership is legal with the following classes of liquor licenses:

  • Other vintner's restaurant licenses
  • Hotel and restaurant and tavern liquor licenses
  • Hotel and restaurant with optional premises
  • Retail gaming tavern licenses
  • Racetrack licenses
  • Brew pubs
  • Arts licenses
  • Beer and wine licenses
  • Club licenses
  • Public transportation system license
  • 3.2% beer licenses


A 500 foot distance restriction from colleges, universities, and seminaries applies to new vintner's restaurant applications.  (This is by rule and regulation of the Denver Department of Excise an Licenses.)


Application Fee:

State - $1,550.00 fee made payable to Colorado Department of Revenue + Liquor License Fees + Manager Registration Fees

State - $1,650.00 fee for Concurrent Review + Liquor License Fees + Manager Registration Fees

State - $1,550.00 fee for Transfer of Ownership + Liquor License Fees + Manager Registration Fees

City -   $1,000.00 + other fees assigned at time of application

Colorado Bureau of Investigations Fingerprinting:  $38.50 per person for anyone that owns at least 10% of the business entity.

License fees will be calculated at the time the application is submitted to the City.

See documents required for a liquor license application.

A list of the names of all mangers of vintner's restaurant license must be provided to the state and local authorities.

Additional documents may be required for this class of license.  Check with the Department of Excise and Licenses for specific requirements.

The names of all managers of vintner's restaurant licenses must be provided to the local and state licensing authorities whether a principal to the licensee or someone else manages the licensed premises.

Any changes in managers of vintner's restaurant licenses must be reported to both the City and the State within thirty (30 ) days of the change in manager. 


State Statutes

Colorado StatuesColorado Liquor
and Beer Laws


Plan Extra Time!

Date Icon

Inspections and paperwork can take longer than you expect. Plan extra time to get your license.