Skip navigation

Stage 2 Fire Ban Issued for Denver Mountain Parks in Jefferson, Clear Creek and Douglas Counties

Due to the continuing high fire danger, Stage 2 fire restrictions are in immediate effect for all Denver Mountain Parks properties, which are located in Jefferson County, Clear Creek County and Douglas County.  This includes Bergen Peak, Fillius, Genesee, Katherine Craig, Lookout Mountain, O’Fallon, Pence, Bell, Cub Creek, Dedisse, Elephant Butte, Berrian Mountain, Newton, Red Rocks and Little Park in Jefferson County;  Echo Lake, Summit Lake, Hicks Mountain, Pence Mountain and Forsberg Park in Clear Creek County; and Daniel’s Park in Douglas County.

This Stage 2 fire ban is temporary and shall remain in effect until superseded or rescinded by the Executive Director of Denver Parks and Recreation.

 The following actions and forms of fire are prohibited in Denver Mountain Parks:

  • Building, maintaining, attending or using any fire or recreational campfire
  • Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site, or while stopped in an area that is barren or cleared of all combustible material
  • Open burning including ground fires are not allowed
  • Use or possession of any and all fireworks
  • All other outdoor spark or flame producing activities

Grills that use propane gas and are in proper working order are not prohibited and are allowed at this time.  For further fire bans, restrictions and information, refer to the county of jurisdiction. 

Denver Parks and Recreation reminds everyone to continue to exercise caution and practice heightened fire safety at all times, particularly in dry areas.

For a listing of all Denver Mountain Parks, including maps and other information, please visit