Skip navigation


Denver is a growing and diverse city. Each one of us can contribute to our city. We need your help by taking the time to serve as an active member of a board or commission. Appointments to boards and/or commissions are a vital part of local government and provide for direct citizen involvement in city affairs. Working together we can successfully prepare for our city’s future.

Mayor Michael B. Hancock appoints approximately 700 people to serve on over 130 City and County of Denver Boards and Commissions. Our office manages this process of recruiting, interviewing and recommending candidates.

Please review our list of boards and commissions if you are interested in considering yourself and/or others in the community who can contribute and influence city policies by serving on one of these boards or commissions.

Denver Planning Board Seeking Applicants

The Mayor’s Office of Boards and Commissions is currently seeking applicants for an upcoming vacant position on the Denver Planning Board. Interested candidates must have a background in architecture and design. As you are aware, the Denver Planning Board advises the Mayor and Denver City Council on land use matters, including planning and zoning. The 11-member board also reviews and makes recommendations on rezoning requests, plans, certain district design standards and guidelines, view planes and other land use rules and regulations.

The Board meets the first and third Wednesday of each month at 3:00 p.m. at the City and County Building, 1437 Bannock Street in the Parr-Widener Community Room, #389.

Interested applicants are required to submit an online application and resume at no later than May 6, 2019. If you have questions, please contact me by replying to this email or by calling me at 720.865.9085.





PLEASE NOTE: * Indicates Boards and Commissions that need Council Confirmation (added three-week time frame).



Civic engagement, defined as, “Active participation and collaboration among individuals, government and the private sector to influence and determine decisions that affect the citizen public”, is the cornerstone of our democracy. We encourage you to apply for those that meet your interest, skills and/or qualifications. Please keep in mind that this content is only indicative of boards and/or commissions for which the Mayor appoints applicants. Your application will be kept on file for a period of two years, during which time you will be considered for any vacancies. To assure full consideration of your application for a board or commission appointment, it is important to review the responsibilities and requirements. Certain boards and/or commissions may require special qualifications, i.e. professional licensing or experience, and geographic location.

When applying for a position, please follow these guidelines:

  • Locate the board and/or commission(s) of interest to you and apply for the board or commission online 
  • Submit your application at least 45 days prior to the vacancy date for positions that are currently occupied

Due to monthly updates, this information may be subject to change without notice. Information contained in this publication is available in alternate formats upon request.


To apply for a board or commission, please click on the link above or contact us for more information.

Romaine Pacheco, Director of Boards and Commissions 
(720) 865-9085