Skip navigation

Denver Justice Center Architect RFQ Respondents Announced

Tuesday, October 18, 2005

James Mejia, Project Manager
(720) 865-2670

Denver Justice Center Architect RFQ Respondents Announced

Master Architect to Present Design Guidelines Tonight – Tuesday, 10/18
(DENVER) David Owen Tryba Architects, in association with Mundus Bishop Design and DMJM, will present an Interim Framework Plan for the Denver Justice Center on Tuesday, October 18, 2005, from 6 to 8 p.m. at the Federal Credit Union, 1041 Acoma Street. This plan includes the siting of the three downtown buildings (the courthouse, detention facility, and post office/parking garage building) and how the three buildings will relate to each other and the surrounding neighborhoods.

Respondents to Architect RFQ

The City has received initial responses to the Request for Qualifications (“RFQ”) from signature architects interested in designing the new Denver Justice Center courthouse and downtown detention facility. Denver-based firms David Owen Tryba Architects and Barber Architecture have already been selected for Master Urban Design Architect and the post office/parking garage building, respectively.

Firms that are subsequently short-listed from the RFQ responses will be asked to develop a team with a local architectural partner and respond to a Request for Proposal (“RFP”). Based on the responses to the RFP, teams selected by the jury will be invited to formal interviews and will be introduced to the public the day prior to their interviews, as part of an Architect Lecture Series for both the courthouse and detention facility. This will provide an opportunity for the community to see firsthand the vision of the participating signature architects and their proposals for the Justice Center. The architect selection jury, whose members were announced Monday, will forward their final recommendations to Mayor John Hickenlooper.

The submittals, listed below, include two Pritzker Architecture Prize winners* and Time Magazine’s 2001 Architect of the Year.**

Courthouse Respondents

Foster & Partner* London, England

Grimshaw Architects New York, NY

Hartman-Cox Architects Washington, DC

Kallmann McKinnell & Wood Boston, MA

Koetter Kim & Associates Boston, MA Perkins & Will Chicago, IL

Richard Meier & Partner Architects* New York, NY

Robert A.M. Stern Architects (in association with 4240 Architects) New York, NY

Steven Holl Architects** New York, NY

Valerio Dewalt Train Associates, Inc. Chicago, IL

Yazdani Studio of Cannon Design Los Angeles, CA

Detention Facility Respondents

Hartman-Cox Architects Washington, D.C.

HOK St. Louis, MO
Newman Cavender & Doane (in association with DLR Group) Denver, CO

Rosser International, Inc. Atlanta, (in association with Hodgetts & Fung and Davis Buckley Architects and M+O+A Architectural Partnership)

Schenkel Shultz Fort Wayne, IN

Ten Arcquitectos (in association with RNL Design and Durrant) New York, NY

Valerio Dewalt Train Associates, Inc. Chicago, IL

Moshe Safdie & Associates, Somerville, MA (in association with DLR Group and Bennett Wagner & Grody)

Perkins & Will, Chicago, IL

# # #