Denver Motor Vehicle New Branch Hours Effective Aug. 3
All Denver Motor Vehicle locations will implement new hours beginning August 3, 2020:
Open 7 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. M, Tu, Th, F
Open 7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. Wed.
The change is necessary to accommodate rising summer temperatures during the summer months. All Motor Vehicle branches are experiencing long wait times and encourage customers to use alternate methods for completing transactions when possible.
Customers will notice physical and process changes implemented to protect both customers and staff from potential COVID-19 exposure including:
Lobby areas must remain at a safe capacity. Clients will first check-in at the facility and DMV staff will notify you when it is safe to enter the building.
Clients with completed paperwork who are paying by check can place their information directly into the drop box at any of the five branch offices without waiting and staff will process and send the updated registration within 3-4 business days.
Residents may also use online*, mail, and phone options for renewals, new registrations, disability placards, and other transactions. Visit mydmv.colorado.gov.
The City is providing a grace period for expired registrations through August 31, 2020. Denver Police Department and Denver Right of Way Enforcement will not issue citations for expired tags during this time.
*If you live in Denver and renew your expired registration online after July 1, you may be charged a late fee. Request a refund of late fees by completing this form. Denver is waiving late fees through August 31, 2020.
Emmissions Stations Are Now Open!
Most emissions stations have reopened!
Visit the Air Care Colorado at AirCareColorado.com to find the emissions station closest to you.
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles requires residents of Denver County to get emissions inspections as part of the State's overall strategy to improve air quality throughout Denver and the front range. Vehicles from a model year of 1981 or older must have an emissions test annually; vehicles from model year 1982 and newer must test every other year. You must obtain an emissions test:
Proof of valid vehicle insurance coverage is required by state law. The Department of Motor Vehicle will accept an insurance card, copy of insurance policy or letter from your insurance company on their letterhead including a description of the vehicle with the following information: year, make, model, vehicle identification number (VIN), effective date and expiration date of the policy. We will also accept proof of insurance displayed electronically via smartphone.
Questions about proof of insurance for registration renewals?
Even if you have provided proof of insurance in the past, you may be asked to provide it again if your insurance carrier has not transmitted data for your proof of insurance to the State of Colorado. Insurance companies are required by law to provide necessary information on their policy holders to the State database by the seventh day of each month. If your insurance company has not submitted this information in time, you will need to provide proof of insurance to the DMV by mail, fax, in-person, or by email attachment displayed on a smartphone at the DMV, before your registration can be renewed. Contact your insurance company to provide proper verification.
Want to renew online but need an emissions test? No problem! Get your emissions test and wait approximately 48 hours. The emissions information will be uploaded to the state portal during that time frame and you will be able to renew online.