Skip navigation




The Urban Area Security Initiative grant program (UASI), is a Federal grant passed through the Department of Homeland Security.  UASI grants are awarded across the nation to urban areas based on threat and risk factors that are determined by the Department of Homeland Security.  The UASI borders are determined in part by established Metropolitan Statistical Areas. UASI funding is awarded to urban areas to assist them in preventing, preparing for, responding to and recovering from terrorist acts. 

Denver has been an awarded UASI since 2003 and has received over $60 million dollars in UASI funding.  This funding has been used in a variety of ways, including but not limited to:

  • Interoperability projects
  • Training and Exercising for first responders
  • Equipment for first responders
  • Planning projects throughout the region

UASI funding is distributed into 2 tiers.  Tier 1 recipients are highly populated urban areas like New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago which would result in severe economic impact and potential loss of life in the event of a terrorist attack.  Tier 2 recipients are also highly populated areas, but would potentially have a lesser economic impact and loss of life if attacked.  UASI grants are awarded annually.  The funding is appropriated by Congress through the Presidential budget.  The Department of Homeland Security determines the eligible Urban Areas annually.  Eligible Urban Areas are provided a baseline funding amount each year which is the basis for their application.


Translate This Page

UASI Partners

The Denver UASI border uses the State of Colorado North Central All- Hazard Region as its footprint.  This includes all agencies and jurisdictions within the following counties:

  • City and County of Denver
  • Arapahoe County
  • Jefferson County
  • Adams County
  • Boulder County 
  • Douglas County 
  • Clear Creek County
  • City of Aurora
  • Commerce City
  • City of Englewood
  • City of Glendale
  • City of Greenwood Village
  • City of Littleton
  • City of Thornton
  • City of Westminster
  • City of Wheat Ridge
  • Denver Health and Hospital Authority (DHHA)
  • Regional Transportation District (RTD)

Six Fire Protection Districts:

  • Adams County Fire
  • Arvada Fire
  • Brighton Fire
  • South Metro Fire
  • West Metro Fire
  • Adams Jeffco Hazardous Response Authority









Main Contact Information

The Mayor's Office of Emergency Management and Homeland Security
101 W Colfax Ave.  7th Floor
Denver, Co 80202
Phone: 720-865-7600

Emergency Operations Center / Joint Information Center
1437 Bannock Street, Room 3
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 720-865-7600
Fax: 720-865-7691


Need City Assistance?

Denver 311 Help Center 
Call 3-1-1
Outside Denver Call 720-913-1311
Emergencies: 911 
TTY Service: 720-913-8479