Skip navigation

Holiday Schedule

Orange desk calendar

The holidays listed below are observed by the City and County of Denver, and shall be granted to all employees regularly scheduled to work except for on-call employees and employees in the short range classes (Park Seasonal Laborer, Pool Supervisor, Recreation Aide, Recreation Facility Asst., and Ushers). Some employees may be required to work on a holiday(s) in order to maintain essential services to the city.

2016 Holidays

New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2016

Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, January 18, 2016

Presidents' Day
Monday, February 15, 2016

Cesar Chavez Day
Monday, March 28, 2016 (observed)

Memorial Day
Monday, May 30, 2016

Independence Day
Monday, July 4, 2016

Labor Day
Monday, September 5, 2016

Veterans Day
Friday, November 11, 2016

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 24, 2016

Christmas Day
Monday, December 26, 2016 (observed)

Personal Holiday*

 
2017 Holidays

New Year's Day
Monday, January 2, 2017 (observed)

Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, January 16, 2017

Presidents' Day
Monday, February 20, 2017

Cesar Chavez Day
Monday, March 27, 2017 (observed)

Memorial Day
Monday, May 29, 2017

Independence Day
Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Labor Day
Monday, September 4, 2017

Veterans Day
Friday, November 10, 2017 (observed)

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2017

Personal Holiday*

 

*Personal Holiday - A time agreed upon by the employee and supervisor. Personal holidays can not be carried over to the next year.

Holidays that fall on the weekend will be observed on the dates indicated, pursuant to Career Service Rule 10 - Paid Leave


Holiday Out of Office Messages

Employees have the option to copy and paste the following text into their Out of Office Assistant in Outlook for upcoming holidays.

Holiday:

I will be out of the office on __________ in observance of the _____________ holiday. I apologize for any inconvenience and will respond to your message when our offices reopen _____________.  

Optional Addition:

If you have an urgent matter, please contact ____________ at______________.

 

 
Holiday Closure Posters

2017 Holiday Closure Posters
All 2017 posters are in English and Spanish. To print the 11" x 17" Holiday posters for your department/agency, please click the links below:

 
January
New Year's Day
 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
 
 
February
Presidents' Day
  
 
March
Cesar Chavez Day
 
 
May
  Memorial Day
 

 

July
Independence Day
 
 
September
  Labor Day
 
 
November
  Veterans Day
Thanksgiving Day

 

December 
Christmas