Skip navigation

Holiday Schedule

The holidays listed below are observed by the City and County of Denver, and shall be granted to all employees regularly scheduled to work except for on-call employees and employees in the short range classes (e.g. Park Seasonal Laborer, Pool Supervisor, Recreation Aide, Recreation Facility Asst., and Ushers). Some employees may be required to work on a holiday(s) in order to maintain essential services to the city.
2019 Holidays

New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019

Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, January 21, 2019

Presidents' Day
Monday, February 18, 2019

César Chávez Day
Monday, March 25, 2019 (observed)

Memorial Day
Monday, May 27, 2019

Independence Day
Thursday, July 4, 2019

Labor Day
Monday, September 2, 2019

Veterans Day
Monday, November 11, 2019

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 28, 2019

Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019

Personal Holiday*

 
2020 Holidays

New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, January 20, 2020

Presidents' Day
Monday, February 17, 2020

César Chávez Day
Monday, March 20, 2020 (observed)

Memorial Day
Monday, May 25, 2020

Independence Day
Friday, July 3, 2020 (observed)

Labor Day
Monday, September 7, 2020

Veterans Day
Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 26, 2020

Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020

Personal Holiday*

 

*Personal Holiday - A time agreed upon by the employee and supervisor. Personal holidays can not be carried over to the next year.

Holidays that fall on the weekend will be observed on the dates indicated, pursuant to Career Service Rule 10 - Paid Leave


Holiday Out of Office Messages

Employees have the option to copy and paste the following text into their Out of Office Assistant in Outlook for upcoming holidays.

Holiday:

I will be out of the office on __________ in observance of the _____________ holiday. I apologize for any inconvenience and will respond to your message when our offices reopen _____________.  

Optional Addition:

If you have an urgent matter, please contact ____________ at______________.

 

 
Holiday Closure Posters

Holiday Closure Posters
All posters are in English and Spanish. To print the 11" x 17" Holiday posters for your department/agency, please click the links below:

December 2018
Christmas
English & Spanish

January 2019
New Year's Day
English & Spanish

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
English & Spanish 

February
Presidents' Day
English & Spanish

March
Cesar Chavez Day
English & Spanish

May
Memorial Day
English & Spanish

July
Independence Day
English & Spanish

September
Labor Day
English & Spanish

November
Veterans Day
English & Spanish

Thanksgiving Day
English & Spanish

December
Christmas
English & Spanish