Skip navigation

Where We Get Input

The Office of Sustainability gets its most direct input through two committees, one consisting of representatives of the City agencies most directly involved in sustainability work and the other consisting of community volunteers.

Sustainability Implementation Committee

The Sustainability Implementation Committee (SIC) meets monthly to 1.) provide updates on current sustainability efforts within each agency, 2.) evaluate the effectiveness of citywide sustainability initiatives to achieve established targets, 3) recommend modifications of the City’s sustainability goals to the Mayor, as needed, 4) coordinate on sustainability initiatives and 5) make recommendations to the Office of Sustainability for improvements to policies or programs.

The SIC is diverse and represents major agencies within the City.  The core membership currently consists of the following:

  • David Basich (General Services)
  • Drew Brown (Budget and Management Office)
  • Scott Gilmore (Parks and Recreation)
  • Garry Hinderliter (Human Resources)
  • Scott Morrissey (Denver International Airport)
  • Matt Mueller (Office of Emergency Management and Homeland Security)
  • Katherine O'Connor (Office of Economic Development)
  • Derek Okubo (Agency for Human Rights and Community Partnerships)
  • Paul Sobiech (Public Works)
  • Gregg Thomas (Public Health and Environment)
  • Jerry Tinianow (Office of Sustainability – Facilitator)
  • Andrew Webb (Community Planning & Development)
  • Gary Wilson (Denver Sheriff Department)


Sustainability Advisory Council



The Office of Sustainability Advisory Council is a group of volunteers who assist the Office in promoting the sustainability of the City and County of Denver and its community. The Council has the following functions:

  • Provide advice and recommendations to the staff of Denver’s Office of Sustainability concerning the policies, programs, operations, budget and fundraising of the Office. The Council is not involved in policies, decisions and actions related to personnel.
  • Assist the staff in connecting with people and organizations that can provide advice, support and resources for the operation of the Office.
  • Initiate projects of its own that supplement or support the programs of the Office and that are consistent with the policies of the Office and of the City and County of Denver. The Advisory Council does not have the authority to speak for the City and County of Denver or its Office of Sustainability, or otherwise to commit Denver to any course of action or inaction, but it may submit comments to the Mayor, other City departments and agencies, and the City Council on matters of policy.
  • Promote and communicate the principles of sustainability broadly among the community and peer networks.

The Mayor appoints the members of the Council. Members serve for a term of two years and may thereafter be reappointed for successive terms without limitation at the discretion of the Mayor. Current members include:

  • Lindsay Arell, Honeycomb Strategies
  • Jay April, Berkeley Regis United Neighbors
  • Gary Bernfeld, TIAA
  • Devon Buckels, The Water Connection
  • Cindy Chang, Goundwork Denver
  • Jill Cooper, Independent Contrator
  • Alex Dane, Spark Policy Institute
  • Adrienne Dorsey, Grid Alternatives
  • Monique Dyers, Ensight Energy
  • Paul Farnan, US Navy
  • Rudy Gonzales, Servicios de la Raza
  • Jennifer Hale, Denver Zoo
  • Monica Heintz, Arcadis US, Inc.
  • Jocelyn Hittle, Colorado State University
  • Stella Hodgkins, GE Johnson (Secretary)
  • Chris Jedd, Denver Housing
  • Megan Jorgensen, Snooze
  • Paul Kashmann, Denver City Council
  • Joyce Kennedy, People and Pollinators
  • Winna MacLaren, Denver Regional Council of Governments
  • Theron Makley, Panasonic
  • Hilda Nucete, League of Conservation Voters
  • Debbie Ortega, Denver City Council
  • Ashley Ruiz, McKinstry
  • Brenna Simmons-St.Onge, The Alliance Center (Vice Chair)
  • Casey Stock, DaVita (Chair)
  • Lauren Wilson, Xcel Energy

The Advisory Council has three sub-committees for the 2018 calendar year:

  1. Sustaianbility as a Core Public Value
  2. Social Aspects of Sustainability
  3. Policy

People who are not members of the Council may serve on a committee.

Advisory Council meetings are open to the public. The Advisory Council meets the third Wednesday of even-numbered months (February, April, June, etc.) from 3:00-5pm in the first floor conference room at The Alliance Center, 1536 Wynkoop St., Denver.