The Denver Police Department recognizes that fear of mistreatment is one of the major concerns of at-risk persons. The Denver Police Department, along with our partners at Denver Adult Protective Services, the Denver District Attorney's Office, and Rocky Mountain Human Services, is dedicated to providing the highest level of customer service to our at-risk population while complying with the mandatory reporting laws associated with at-risk persons.
As of July 1, 2014, certain professionals must report any suspected or actual physical or sexual abuse, caretaker neglect or exploitation of at-risk elders (persons 70 years of age or older).
On July 1, 2016, this mandatory reporting law was amended to include additional mandatory reporters and added at-risk adults with an Intellectual/Developmental Disability (I/DD) to the same protected class with at-risk elders.
If you are a mandatory reporter and observe or suspect mistreatment (abuse, neglect, or exploitation) of an at-risk elder or adult with an I/DD, you must make a report with law Enforcement within 24 hours. The Denver Police Department can be contacted by calling 911 or 720-913-2000. Phone or online reports are not accepted for these allegations.
Not sure if you are a mandatory reporter or who an adult with an Intellectual/Developmental Disability is defined as? Colorado Adult Protective Services has a great website that explains the law and even provides on-line training.
If you are a community member who is not considered to be a mandatory reporter or are a mandatory reporter who needs to report issues of self-neglect or other concerns, please contact Denver Adult Protective Services Hotline at 720-944-2994.
Rocky Mountain Human Services can be contacted with any questions or concerns involving a person with an Intellectual/Developmental Disability that is not covered under the mandatory reporting law.
More information is available on the Denver Human Services webpage for Adult Protection and Elder Abuse.
Additional information about how mistreatment of our at-risk population impacts the community can be illustrated in a couple of short informational videos:
Persons with I/DD. The Silent Epidemic PSA from the self advocates in CA
Elder abuse can occur anywhere including assisted living facilities and at home
Colorado Adult Protective Services (APS) has contracted Anfeald Business Safety Consultants to provide Mandatory Reporter Training to professionals accross the state of Colorado beginning in October 2017 and continuing through June 2018.
For more information, click here.
You may file a non-emergency police report using our secure, online reporting system for the types of crimes listed below:
To report an emergency, dial 911.
Victim Assistance Unit
1331 Cherokee Street
Denver, CO 80224
Phone: (720) 913-6035
Hours: Mon - Fri, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sat, Sun, & Holidays, 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.
We are on-call and available 24-hours a day, 365 days a year to provide crisis intervention and services to victims of crime or incidents of non-criminal, stark misfortune.