Report a Crash
If you are involved in a crash or collision, whether that may be with another vehicle, pedestrian, building or bicyclist, Colorado State law requires all drivers involved to provide their name, address and vehicle registration to all other involved persons. This means that you must show your driver's license to anyone who asks to see it. In all cases, except when an Accident Alert has been declared, you must stop and report the crash by calling your local police station or 911.
An Accident Alert is declared when conditions (such as inclement weather or other emergency) are so severe that police officers are unable to respond to the volume of motor vehicle crashes. If involved in a crash while an Accident Alert is declared, call 911 and waiting for a dispatcher to determine if a police officer will be sent to the scene. If the crash does not meet the criteria for a police response you must do the following:
1. All drivers involved must exchange their name, driver's license information, vehicle registration information and proof of insurance information.
2. File a report as soon as possible by reporting the crash to your local police station or calling 911. For crashes that occur outside of the Denver city limits, you must respond to that jurisdiction to complete the counter crash report.
Denver, unlike many municipalities, doesn't automatically impound towed vehicles. Vehicles that are towed are often relocated to a nearby location and parked legally there. There is a $100 tow fee incurred for moving a vehicle.If your vehicle's been towed, contact the Denver Police Non-Emergency line to locate it: 720-913-2000 (When you get the recorded message, hit 0 for the operator; they will look up your vehicle's location).
If there are 3 or more unpaid tickets (or other outstanding citations) on a vehicle, a seizure warning notice will be issued, and a boot may be placed on your car. The boot won't be removed until all outstanding fines (including the additional $100 boot fee) are paid. If a vehicle is booted for 72 hours (excluding weekends and holidays) without payment, it will be considered abandoned and towed to impound. If a vehicle is towed to impound, an additional $100 tow fee will be charged.
Payment by phone or online for booted vehicles can be made 24 hours a day. However, if fines, penalties and boot fees are paid after 5:00 pm using the Pay-by-Phone system or the Pay-by-Web service, the vehicle will be released during normal operating hours.
Walk-in payments for boots may be made with cash, money order, Visa or MasterCard; no checks accepted for boots. Payments should be presented at the Parking Cashier's Office on the first floor of the Wellington Webb Building in downtown Denver. The Parking Cashier's Office is open Monday through Friday between 8:00 am and 5 pm, excluding holidays.
You can pay your parking ticket online, over the phone, in person, or by mail.
To pay by phone using a Visa, Mastercard, or Discover, call 1-866-280-9988.
Mail-in payments may be made by check or cashiers check. Payment must be sent in US Dollars. Please write the ticket number(s) on the check. If you have received a notice concerning the ticket through the mail, please return the payment coupon from your notice along with your payment to:
Parking Violations Bureau
P.O. Box 46500
Denver, Colorado 80201-6500
If there is a fine amount listed on the front of your ticket, you can pay the ticket online, by mail, or in person. Visa, MasterCard, Discover, cash, money order or personal check are acceptable forms of payment. The Court does not accept payments by phone. If you do not know your ticket number, you can do a Search by Name and find all your cases that can be paid online.
Most tickets are eligible for online payment. You will need your citation number and the 9-digit PIN number printed on page 2 of your violation notice.
We accept checks, cashier's checks, and money orders for mail-in payments. Please include your citation number and/or license plate number on any payments mailed in and make payable to "Manager of Finance".
City and County of Denver
Photo Speed Enforcement Program
PO Box 46503
Denver, CO 80201-6503
Please allow 7-14 days from the mailing date to process your payment. Please review your bank statement prior to calling the Photo Enforcement Unit regarding payment status. *NOTE:Failure to mail to the address above will result in delayed processing.
You have the right to be safe on streets and sidewalks no matter where you go or how you get there.
Vision Zero is a transportation safety philosophy that was developed in Sweden to eliminate traffic deaths and serious injuries in the transportation system. Denver adopted this philosophy in 2016, in coordination with dozens of city agencies and partners to eliminate traffic-related deaths and serious injuries by 2030.
Click below for more information about Vision Zero:
Click below to learn valuable safety tips that can help you avoid a traffic crash:
Phone: (720) 337-1030
3381 Park Avenue West
Denver, CO 80216
The Traffic Operations Section is responsible for
The Traffic Operations Section oversees the City's Photo Radar Enforcement Program, Speed Trailer Program, and manages street closure requests.
Phone: (720) 337-1000
The Traffic Investigations Unit is responsible for investigations of the following:
Body shop owners can partner with the Denver Police Department tol receive information about suspected vehicles involved in a hit and run incident and will then call Traffic Investigations prior to starting work on any vehicles matching the suspect description.
Park Smart Denver provides information about parking permit programs, accessible parking, public lots and garage maps, parking meters, bicycle parking and B-cycle program, street sweeping reminders and more.
Denver police officers stop motor vehicles for a variety of reasons including:
What you should do: