Design Guidelines

Earlier this year, the City and County of Denver updated the design guidelines used to evaluate building projects for local landmarks and properties within the boundaries of designated historic districts. The guidelines help ensure that each proposed project preserves key historic features and is compatible with the character of designated historic buildings, sites and districts. 

To download the Denver Design Guidelines document in its entirety, click here. See below for chapter-by-chapter listing.

Character defining for the following districts will be completed in 2015:

  • Witter-Cofiled
  • Wyman
  • East 7th Ave.
  • Montclair
  • Larimer Square
  • Ballpark
  • Alamo Placita
  • Driving Park
  • Lafayette Street
  • Old Highland Business District
  • Swallow Hill
  • Humboldt Street-Park Ave.
  • Quality Hill
  • Pennsylvania Street
  • Sherman-Grant
  • Humboldt Street
  • Snell Subdivision
  • 9th Street Park
  • Morgan’s Subdivision
  • Grant Street
  • Clayton College
  • Lowry Technical Training Center
  • Lowry Officer’s Row
  • DeBoer
  • Florence F. Martin Ranch
  • Country Club



Contact Us

Landmark Preservation Office: